HP's Reverb VR Pro Headset - Page 278 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2019, 10:59 PM   #2771
Tinkickef
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK - North Yorkshire
Posts: 691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wormeaten View Post
From all of this post from the beginning got to the conclusion there is nothing wrong from Reverb side about this flickering and blackout what happened.
It is a clientside issue, not Reverb. The only problem is the insufficient power supply to the HMD unit required. Someone send a picture of the specs and you can see it is specifically said 900mA.

So most of the people, if it is not all, who had such problems connect multiple USB devices on one controller. Even better MBO controllers have max 1000mA so even mouse on the same controller could cause the problem.

It is obvious Reverb needs dedicated USB controller for insufficient power supply true USB. If your MBO could not provide it additional PCI-e USB3 card will fix this problem but only if you use it for Reverb only.
Inateck PCI-E to USB 3.1 PCI Express Card is a good choice especially because got stable Power Supply equipped with power management chip, plus 15-Pin SATA power cable, the card can supply power with an output of USB-A port being 5V/2.4A, and USB-C 5V/3A.
There are some other cards with even up to 5 USB connectors but people do mistake. Such card has only one controller so they switch all USB devices from MBO to that card and practically replicated the same problem but on different controller drain all power again from the just one source. It is a different source but client recreating the same problem.

Connectors are the problem and it was in a similar way even on HP WMR gen1. But I believe this clip or even some DIY with zip ties will fix it as well if the client provides sufficient required power.

Everything else was fixed by WMR software updates. Even Rift-S was having similar problems in the beginning and they didn't return the units. It is fixed true software update but such power problems even existed in CV1 days and were fixed in the same way with an additional USB card.

Somehow I doubt it will be Reverb gen 2 or whatever you will call it. I think this is it. They will add the clip maybe in best case change the cables but no major miracle change.

Secoda, think twice before you decide to return your Reverb which working perfectly now? Do you really want to do that, is it worth it?

That is my conclusion from all this debate last two months. If I'm wrong someone should be able to say "yes I fulfill all the requirements you mention and still got the same problems". Correct me if I'm wrong.
I don't own Reverb but reading every single post here from no1 and waiting first opportunity to be able to order one in my country no matter what unit it is.
My word. The penny finally dropped...... it is all about power, from bad connections to a well regulated and stable supply.

Of course that is one side of the coin, the other is fine tuning. Today, for the very first time, I set up a mission in Persian Gulf, AlDhafra, tomcat, heavily object populated,and the result with Reverb is far, by far better smoothness than I ever saw with Rift when taxying on the ground. Totally smooth even when looking straight out the side of the cockpit.

That is a major win as far as I'm concerned. Reverb? Yup, spend a little time, do a little research, spend a bit of cash to provide it with the bandwidth and current it needs and it is a dream come true.
__________________
System spec: i9 9900K, Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Ultra motherboard, 32Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200 RAM, Corsair M.2 NVMe 1Tb Boot SSD. Seagate 1Tb Hybrid mass storage SSD. ASUS RTX2080TI Dual OC, Thermaltake Flo Riing 360mm water pumper, EVGA 850G3 PSU. HP Reverb, TM Warthog, Crosswind pedals, Buttkicker Gamer 2.

Last edited by Tinkickef; 08-10-2019 at 11:08 PM.
Tinkickef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 12:15 AM   #2772
wormeaten
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Croatia
Posts: 840
Default

These days I'm more watching this thread than watching porn.

I'm on Reverb track definitely. It is still the best option no matter what.

Thanks all of you guys who share your experience with Reverb, positive or negative doesn't matter they are all creating a general picture about Reverb.
wormeaten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 12:22 AM   #2773
Shortcut
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: SW VA
Posts: 141
Default

I have the Reverb USB connected to my motherboard also and have no issues.
__________________
8700KK @ 5.2ghz Delided Copper ISH, ASUS Z370 Maximus Hero, Swiftech H360X3 Cooling, EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3, G.Skill Trident Z 32gb 3200mhz DDR4 RGB OC 3400, 3 ASUS PB277Q Monitors, Boot Drive 256gb Samsung Pro SSD, 500gb M.2 NVMe for DCS, 512gb Adata SSD for Xplane 11, 1tb WD Black, PSU Evga 850W G2, Thermaltake View 71 Case, TM Warthog, X52 Pro, Saitek Pro Flight Yoke, MFG Crosswinds Rudder, TrackIR 5, Win 10 Pro, HP Reverb Pro VR
Shortcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 10:37 AM   #2774
samo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: france
Posts: 14
Default

If i buy the reverb on shopblt , can i return it even if i am in Europe ?
samo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 11:56 AM   #2775
Hellcat
Member
 
Hellcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samo View Post
If i buy the reverb on shopblt , can i return it even if i am in Europe ?
I believe you have 2 weeks to get it to them after you get your RMA approved...send them an email or call . My experience with them has been very good.
__________________
i5-7600K @ 4.7 l 32GB DDR4 2400 Ram l 512GB Corsair SSD & 512GB Addlink SSD l EVGA 1080 Ti BLACK EDITION l Win10 Pro l WarBRD/Warthog Hotas /VKB MkIV rudder l ASRock Z270 Gaming K6 MB l HP Reverb / OG Odyssey
Hellcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 02:49 PM   #2776
msgreene77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Florida
Posts: 27
Default

Well, now I'm worried I'm not going to get one from ShopBLT. I sent them an email asking if the units they received were v2 (if you please) or not. A few hours later, I decided to jump in and take the chance and purchased one. Yesterday morning, someone from Sales at ShopBLT received my email and advised they reached out to production to confirm if this is new or old stock from HP. He asked if I wanted my order processed or if I wanted to wait on an answer. Unfortunately, I was at work and couldnt reply right away. When I did, I asked how long a reply from production might take, but didnt ask to hold my order. I didnt hear back after a few hours so I emailed again and asked they process the order, just to be on the safe side.

Long story short, they put my order on hold without me actually asking it be held. I just wonder whether or not they physically set aside 1 unit in their inventory to fill my order. Reason being is now they only have 4 units left, which most certainly will be gone by Monday. They didnt charge my card, but if they didnt set one aside, I may be shit out of luck for a few more weeks.

I tip my hat to ShopBLT for the quick response. I just wish they hadn't held it without me actually asking it be held. All I can do is wait until tomorrow for a reply, and hope they put one aside for me. Many warehouse operations will do that. They keep track of how many units of an item they have in stock, but will only take orders for the same amount, only processing the transaction when the unit ships.

Here's hoping that's how it pans out.
__________________
Intel i7 8700K / ASRock Pro 4 / 16 Gb G.Skill DDR4 / Founders Edition RTX2080 / 250 Gb Westgate SSD for OS / 1TB Samsung 970 EVO NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD / Win 10 - 64bit / HP Reverb / TM Warthog Stick & Throttle / MFG Crosswinds Pedals / 32 Input Button Box / Saitek Throttle Quadrant

Last edited by msgreene77; 08-11-2019 at 03:00 PM.
msgreene77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 03:02 PM   #2777
hansangb
Veteran
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 4,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msgreene77 View Post
Well, now I'm worried I'm not going to get one from ShopBLT. I sent them an email asking if the units they received were v2 (if you please) or not. A few hours later, I decided to jump in and take the chance and purchased one. Yesterday morning, someone from Sales at ShopBLT received my email and advised they reached out to production to confirm if this is new or old stock from HP. He asked if I wanted my order processed or if I wanted to wait on an answer. Unfortunately, I was at work and couldnt reply right away. When I did, I asked how long a reply from production might take, but didnt ask to hold my order. I didnt hear back after a few hours so I emailed again and asked they process the order, just to be on the safe side.

Long story short, they put my order on hold without me actually asking it be held. I just wonder whether or not they physically set aside 1 unit in their inventory to fill my order. Reason being is now they only have 4 units left, which most certainly will be gone by Monday. They didnt charge my card, but if they didnt set one aside, I may be shit out of luck for a few more weeks.

I tip my hat to ShopBLT for the quick response. I just wish they hadn't held it without me actually asking it be held. All I can do is wait until tomorrow for a reply, and hope they put one aside for me. Many warehouse operations will do that. They keep track of how many units of an item they have in stock, but will only take orders for the same amount, only processing the transaction when the unit ships.

Here's hoping that's how it pans out.
There inventory system seems near real time to me. Hopefully you saw the count drop by one. They seem to run a first rate ecommerce. Good luck.
__________________
hsb
HW Spec in Spoiler
---
Spoiler:
i7-8700K Delid/OC'ed to 5.1GHz, EVGA Z370 MB, 32GB DDR4 3200MHz, EVGA 2080 Ti FTW3, NVMe+SSD, Win 10 x64 Pro, MFG, JetSeat, Warthog, TM MFDs, Komodo Huey set, CV1
hansangb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 05:28 PM   #2778
statuskuo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 7
Default

I've had my Reverb from Amazon for almost a month now and plugged into a PCIe USB hub, and had no flickering, blackouts, etc..., of course I have the connectors taped together so they don't move. I've got 4 days on the return window, and while I'd like v2.0, who knows when it comes out and how long I'll have to wait, so I'll probably keep it.
statuskuo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 05:49 PM   #2779
msgreene77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Florida
Posts: 27
Default

Pardon if it has been mentioned previously, but has anyone had success with the Reverb using an external powered usb hub? I've been reading the thread over these past few weeks but I cant recall any mention of it. I know I tried hooking my SO+ to the MB 3.0 using a 6' extender and it did not like it. Plugged it directly and sure enough it worked. Makes sense people mentioning direct power to the HMD fixes the flickering and such. I'm still thinking about getting a PCIe 3.0 USB port + USB C to run the HMD. Sound logic there, guys. It's nice that we have a lot of people working hard to prove the Reverb isnt just functional, but a great hardware addition to DCS to bring it one step closer to the real thing.
__________________
Intel i7 8700K / ASRock Pro 4 / 16 Gb G.Skill DDR4 / Founders Edition RTX2080 / 250 Gb Westgate SSD for OS / 1TB Samsung 970 EVO NVMe PCIe M.2 SSD / Win 10 - 64bit / HP Reverb / TM Warthog Stick & Throttle / MFG Crosswinds Pedals / 32 Input Button Box / Saitek Throttle Quadrant

Last edited by msgreene77; 08-11-2019 at 06:19 PM.
msgreene77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 06:29 PM   #2780
eaglecash867
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 566
Default

Not sure about the Reverb with an external hub, but I remember that my CV1 had issues with it, so I got the Inateck PCIe card and have been a happy camper ever since. I use my external hub as an easily accessible place to plug in my HOTAS.
__________________
ASRock Z370 Professional Gaming i7, Intel i7 8700K Coffee Lake processor @4.7GHz, Corsair H105 Liquid Cooler, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 64GB DDR4 3400 memory, MSI GTX2080Ti Gaming X Trio 11GB video card, Samsung 840PRO 256MB SSD for Windows 10 64-bit OS, Samsung 850PRO 2TB SSD for program files, LG WH14NS40 Blu-Ray burner. HOTAS Warthog, Saitek Pedals, HP Reverb Pro, and Oculus Rift CV1.
eaglecash867 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.