Instalatioproblem with HOTAS Cougar - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2020, 04:16 PM   #1
Trigger
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NRW-OWL
Posts: 130
Default Instalatioproblem with HOTAS Cougar

After finally getting a new System, I tried to install HOTAS Cougar and Foxy like on my previous Win10/64-home.
This time it simply doesn't work. Followed all the advices of "Cubpilot" like before but without success.
"Device detection error" and "FoxyInfo.ini" was missing. The Axes on the CCP were all present and I was even able to manually calibrate.
Nevertheless when trying to load a file it takes quite some time and finally it is unable to connect the device.
Anybody there who made the same experience but solved it?
__________________
Win 10 / 64 Pro, i7-9700K, DDR4 32GB, Corsair H150i Pro RGB, ASUS ROG Z390-E, RTX 280Ti 11GB, Samsung EVO Plus 970 500GB, ACER Predator XB1 27" 2K
extended Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (U2nxt) , Simpeds , TrackIR 5
Trigger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2020, 05:28 PM   #2
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,508
Default

Even tough this Guide was written using Windows 8.1, I used it recently when I upgraded to Windows 10 and it is still correct .. maybe it can help you to pinpoint the problem:

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=181049
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 10:05 AM   #3
Trigger
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NRW-OWL
Posts: 130
Default

Well, seems my Cougar isn't recognized at all by the system. Following your advices it ends up with "Device detection error. The device is not connected, unrecognized...".

Nevertheless the CCP appears. After opening, two axes are shown active. Opening Foxy, a window appeared sying: "FoxyInfo.ini is missing from Foxy's Info folder...".
Never had this problems before. On the old Computer it was running on Win10/64-home, now it's the Pro version. Can't immagine that this makes the difference.
By the way, sorry for my poor English- German native, Rudel
__________________
Win 10 / 64 Pro, i7-9700K, DDR4 32GB, Corsair H150i Pro RGB, ASUS ROG Z390-E, RTX 280Ti 11GB, Samsung EVO Plus 970 500GB, ACER Predator XB1 27" 2K
extended Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (U2nxt) , Simpeds , TrackIR 5
Trigger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 10:59 AM   #4
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,508
Default

Most mainboards have two types of USB ports, the blue ones are USB 3.0 while the black ones are the older USB 2.0 .. have you tried to use a different type of USB port?
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 11:41 AM   #5
Trigger
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NRW-OWL
Posts: 130
Default

Also there's no such window showing the Firmware Update. Checking the HOTAS file there were all the HOTAS .exe files missing (picture).
In the meanwhile I contacted Microsoft and they told me that since the last major update from end 2019 compatibilty with VISTA is no longer supported.
This would mean that all coming updates for Win10 will corrupt HOTAS Cougar...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HOTAS .exe files are missing.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	227320  
__________________
Win 10 / 64 Pro, i7-9700K, DDR4 32GB, Corsair H150i Pro RGB, ASUS ROG Z390-E, RTX 280Ti 11GB, Samsung EVO Plus 970 500GB, ACER Predator XB1 27" 2K
extended Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (U2nxt) , Simpeds , TrackIR 5
Trigger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 02:56 PM   #6
Glyphic
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 11
Default

I would try to uninstall the thurst master software. Just install the hotas and setup from dcs. This might fix the issue.
Glyphic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 04:08 PM   #7
Trigger
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NRW-OWL
Posts: 130
Default

Hurray! Everything running again
Tried reinstallation with USB 3.1 (!) Couldn't imagine that, because I got the Cougar in 2005- and at this time there was only USB 2 AFAIK.

So Rudel, you were right.
Thanks all for your help and patience.
__________________
Win 10 / 64 Pro, i7-9700K, DDR4 32GB, Corsair H150i Pro RGB, ASUS ROG Z390-E, RTX 280Ti 11GB, Samsung EVO Plus 970 500GB, ACER Predator XB1 27" 2K
extended Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (U2nxt) , Simpeds , TrackIR 5
Trigger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 05:00 PM   #8
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trigger View Post
Hurray! Everything running again
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.