Kneeboard Builder (windows app) - Page 141 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2020, 05:35 PM   #1401
Bbow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
Yes, but, were you able to save the shortcuts?
Good question! I just had a quick check and indeed the shortcuts were removed! I assumed it was because I was messing around with the kneeboard and did something I shouldn't have.

So there is no way of saving the shortcuts?
Bbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:48 PM   #1402
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbow View Post
So there is no way of saving the shortcuts?
Unfortunately, no

Currently the Kneeboard show its contents using the following order:

- Generated Map of the flight area.
- Aircraft's Kneeboard (only on some aircrafts, like the MiG-21, Viggen, C-101, etc)
- Content of Saved Games/DCS/Kneeboard/<aircraft>/
- Terrain's Kneeboard (if any, currently only Caucasus and Nevada have content)
- Mission's Kneeboard (on /KNEEBOARD/IMAGES/ within the .miz file)

My wish, would be that DCS autogenerate shortcuts to each of these Sections ... and also ideally to have the Mission's kneeboard closer to the top of this list, for example:

- Generated Map of the flight area.
- Mission's Kneeboard (on /KNEEBOARD/IMAGES/ within the .miz file)
- Aircraft's Kneeboard (only on some aircrafts, like the MiG-21, Viggen, C-101, etc)
- Content of Saved Games/DCS/Kneeboard/<aircraft>/
- Terrain's Kneeboard (if any, currently only Caucasus and Nevada have content)

The Kneeboard is so important when one is learning an aircraft, that I wonder why ED has not updated it a bit .. well, one can only hope

Cheers.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 12:30 PM   #1403
Bbow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 39
Default

For the F16 guys, if you find that your DED doesn't work properly and it's blank on the main page you should do a REPAIR or INTEGRITY check with STEAM and do not use the Kneeboard Builder to create a kneeboard. This solved the problem for me.
Bbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 01:22 PM   #1404
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 5,855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbow View Post
For the F16 guys, if you find that your DED doesn't work properly and it's blank on the main page you should do a REPAIR or INTEGRITY check with STEAM and do not use the Kneeboard Builder to create a kneeboard. This solved the problem for me.
I wonder what relationship there may be between the DED and the Kneeboard? ... for me, it works fine:

__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 03:33 PM   #1405
Bbow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 39
Default

No idea, but after the Integrity check and avoidance of the kneeboard builder its working fine. Really odd. It's shame because I like the program.
Bbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2020, 04:30 PM   #1406
Bbow
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 39
Default

Got a bit of a problem. I noticed that since using Kneeboard builder my F16 module will only accept and display PNG files in it's kneeboard folder if they are named the same as what the GROUP is called.

I noticed that for any other module I can just throw a bunch of png files in their kneeboard folder and they get displayed no matter what they are called because I didn't use Kneeboard builder for those modules.

How do I change the settings for my F16 module kneeboard to get it to accept and display png files that aren't name the same as the folder? Its as if there is a setting that says "only display png files named 01 F16 001.png , 01 / 01 F16 002.png / 01 F16 003.png etc etc

Looked everywhere to change this but no luck. ANy ideas?
Bbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2020, 01:21 AM   #1407
sgilewicz
Junior Member
 
sgilewicz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Florida
Posts: 48
Default

"All credits to AlaskanGrizzly for this.
This seems a great program to create custom kneeboards and after seeing dburne's entry about working with it in VR, i thought of having a go.

However, nothing in the world i do makes this thing work.
I'm stuck at creating a profile and i have no clue how to make one (the manual is a bit old because some things seem to have been changed in the software but the didn't make it to the manual yet. One of these things is creating a profile.
I managed to set some options (LOL), import a PDF (A-10C manual), created a Custom Kneeboard, select the A-10C aircraft, added a group, moved that over to the Custom Kneeboard and then build a custom Kneeboard for the A-10C. All without a single error, i can see quite some .jpg files in the A-10C which are created out of the A-10C manual pdf but...

... i'm not able to create any profile. If i go there i don't have the same options as in the manual, i have Kneeboard Profiles instead of Kneeboard Settings (what's in a name?) but once in that menu, i can't do anything. I don't have the option the even create a profile, all i have is Modify (greyed out because i obviously don't have one created) and Restore Defaults so i need a bit of guidance because i don't have a single clue on what i'm missing except the fact that i can't follow the manual because i don't see/have what i supposed to see/have."

Exactly the same steps and exactly the same problem here! Where is the settings page? MIA on my install.
__________________
Radial Madness

Last edited by sgilewicz; 04-01-2020 at 01:23 AM.
sgilewicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:08 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.