using mouse cursor in cockpit with oculus rift - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2018, 11:37 AM   #1
bartdude300
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: DERBYSHIRE, UK
Posts: 31
Reputation power: 3
bartdude300 is on a distinguished road
Default using mouse cursor in cockpit with oculus rift

Hi Guys how can I zoom and use my mouse cursor in the cockpit to swith switches with a oculus rift dk2 is it possible or not ??

Regards Glynn
bartdude300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 01:43 PM   #2
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 202
Reputation power: 7
Deano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Go to controls and where you'd normally select what aircrafts controls you want to edit look for UI Layer. In there you should find VR zoom. Map this to a button on your joystick. Now under the VR tab of options there should be a box to "use mouse cursor" or something similar, that should get you going. You may struggle to read things with the DK2 but the CV1 is another world compared to that
__________________
DCS F-16C REALLY NEEDS TO BE A THING!
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 01:59 PM   #3
bartdude300
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: DERBYSHIRE, UK
Posts: 31
Reputation power: 3
bartdude300 is on a distinguished road
Default

Brilliant thanks Deano
bartdude300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 06:11 PM   #4
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 202
Reputation power: 7
Deano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartdude300 View Post
Brilliant thanks Deano
No probs! A rep would be nice
__________________
DCS F-16C REALLY NEEDS TO BE A THING!
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 07:16 AM   #5
bartdude300
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: DERBYSHIRE, UK
Posts: 31
Reputation power: 3
bartdude300 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Deano cant find this Ul layer in my controls anywhere am i missing something ??
bartdude300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 12:22 AM   #6
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 202
Reputation power: 7
Deano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the rough
Default

This should explain it, let me know if you have any other problems.

https://youtu.be/sfoPmAGPkGo?t=11m28s
__________________
DCS F-16C REALLY NEEDS TO BE A THING!
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2018, 12:38 PM   #7
bartdude300
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: DERBYSHIRE, UK
Posts: 31
Reputation power: 3
bartdude300 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Deano thanks for the youtube tutorial managed to map the VR zoom to my joystick now still cant get the cursor to show in VR mode though its driving me nutts lol. Ive ticked use cursor mode in VR settings but see no cursor
bartdude300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2018, 07:38 PM   #8
daarseth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 75
Reputation power: 1
daarseth is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartdude300 View Post
Hi Deano thanks for the youtube tutorial managed to map the VR zoom to my joystick now still cant get the cursor to show in VR mode though its driving me nutts lol. Ive ticked use cursor mode in VR settings but see no cursor
You actually have to move the mouse to get the cursor to pop up. If you are trying to disable use of the mouse, you need to make sure, again to map the control input. You will need to assign/bind a key to use as the left mouse button ( I think either in the UI layer or the General layer tab of the control section).

I personally found that it became tiresome to move my head that much, so I enabled the normal mouse movement again.


Cheers,

Ziptie
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 04:01 PM   #9
Deano87
Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 202
Reputation power: 7
Deano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the roughDeano87 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartdude300 View Post
Hi Deano thanks for the youtube tutorial managed to map the VR zoom to my joystick now still cant get the cursor to show in VR mode though its driving me nutts lol. Ive ticked use cursor mode in VR settings but see no cursor
Also what module are you flying? the FC3 aircraft don't have clickable cockpits so you'll see no cursor.
__________________
DCS F-16C REALLY NEEDS TO BE A THING!
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.