Gazelle ...what is needed to get the auto hover kicking in!? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2020, 09:16 PM   #11
Polychop Simulations
Member
 
Polychop Simulations's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Germany / The Netherlands
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyBoot View Post
Isn't it just the auto-collective part that's a cheat? I could have sworn I read somewhere that the auto-hover in the gaz is a real thing.

Well... As this thread has been brought back from the dead, I might as well confirm that the real Gazelle (the ones from the French ALAT, probably not the Westland UK versions) do have an actual auto-hover mode that can be slaved to the Viviane sight.
__________________
Community Manager Account
DrummerNL
Discord - Facebook - Gazelle sitreps
Polychop Simulations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 01:44 PM   #12
AlpineGTA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 46
Default

I'm really struggling with this too. Before I can even attempt to get my aircraft anything like stable to engage the auto hover, trying to slow down to below 18km/h, as soon as I go below a certain speed and get slow I go into a dizzying spin that requires full rudder to counteract. What's causing this spinning whenever I get slow. I obviously must be doing something wrong, not have my AP and/or trim configured correctly or something? Thanks.
__________________
i7-3770 CPU, 32GB DDR3 RAM, Sapphire AMD Radeon 5700 XT, Oculus Rift S
AlpineGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 03:26 PM   #13
Wakeshift
Junior Member
 
Wakeshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 86
Default

That tendency to rotate in a hover is 'normal' and 'correct'. At low forward movement, the tail no longer acts as a weathervane to hold straight.

Without this, the torque from the rotor due to the power required to keep a hover causes an opposite rotation in the body of the aircraft, which must be countered with pedal input.

This is normal in all tail-rotor helicopter configurations.
Balance the torque with pedal to hold a hover.

Practice practice practice!
__________________
i7 9700k | GTX 1080 | 32 gb | X55 + ProFlight pedals | TrackIR | Win10

Caucasus | Nevada | Persian Gulf | Normandy | Channel | Syria
A-10C | AV-8B | F/A-18C | F-16C | UH-1H | SA342 | Mi8 | Ka50 | FC3 | CA | SC | Kiowa
Wakeshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 09:02 PM   #14
sublime
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 669
Default

i have a lot of problems with this too
basically keep spamming that key and try to keep her as still and level as possible
basically you have to hover her to get it goin
sublime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 03:08 PM   #15
AlpineGTA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 46
Default

Thanks. I'll keep practicing!
__________________
i7-3770 CPU, 32GB DDR3 RAM, Sapphire AMD Radeon 5700 XT, Oculus Rift S
AlpineGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2020, 02:49 AM   #16
AlpineGTA
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 46
Default

Yep, practice definitely makes perfect! After an amazing VR flight through the valleys on the Syria map, I emerged into Beirut and managed to pull into a perfect hover over the city and just sat there for a few minutes admiring the view. It really does feel satisfying when you manage to suss it. I even managed to transition out of the hover, fly over to the airport, transition back into a manually controlled hover and put it down gently on the tarmac. Something I've never managed to do before in the Gazelle. For anyone still struggling it really is worth the effort of persevering. It suddenly makes the Gazelle a joy to fly instead of a frustration.
__________________
i7-3770 CPU, 32GB DDR3 RAM, Sapphire AMD Radeon 5700 XT, Oculus Rift S
AlpineGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2020, 05:56 PM   #17
Rogue Trooper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,732
Default

As mentioned before.
You have to hover first to engage auto hover.
Not split second hover... solid and stable hover... then engage Auto hover and change seats.
__________________

HP pro Reverb.

Current settings:
Windows VR setting: IPD is 64.5mm, High image quality, 90Hz refresh rate.
Steam: VR SS set to 100%, motionReprojectionMode set to "motionreproduction" and Locked in at 45 Hz display,
DCS: Pixel Density 1.0, Forced IPD at 55 (perceived world size), 2 X MSAA, 0 X SSAA.
My real IPD is 64.5mm. Prescription VROptition lenses installed.
VR Driver system:
I9-9900KS 5Ghz CPU. XI Hero motherboard and 2080ti graphics card, 32 gigs Ram 3200 Hz. No OC at the mo.
Rogue Trooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2020, 05:55 PM   #18
sublime
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlpineGTA View Post
Yep, practice definitely makes perfect! After an amazing VR flight through the valleys on the Syria map, I emerged into Beirut and managed to pull into a perfect hover over the city and just sat there for a few minutes admiring the view. It really does feel satisfying when you manage to suss it. I even managed to transition out of the hover, fly over to the airport, transition back into a manually controlled hover and put it down gently on the tarmac. Something I've never managed to do before in the Gazelle. For anyone still struggling it really is worth the effort of persevering. It suddenly makes the Gazelle a joy to fly instead of a frustration.
there you go man!
the trick is you get a hover. you cant be moving too much in any direction, and hit it and it clicks right in.
It gets easier with time of course
sublime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 12:16 PM   #19
Gizmokev
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Wales
Posts: 22
Send a message via MSN to Gizmokev
Default

If you are on a cold start make sure you have advanced the fuel control lever (yellow handled one) fully forward to 100% and gated....best to unbind this from your hotas and use the page up key to ensure its fully forward as if its not you wont be able to engage auto hover either......
__________________
i7-9750H // GTX1660Ti // 500GB SSD // 8GB RAM// Oculus Quest through Link
Gizmokev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 02:03 PM   #20
PickleMonster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 72
Default

Same with the rotor break, if it also isn't fully enaged forward it will also stop the fuel flow lever from fully opening. As Gizmokev says, stick them on a keybind. Or look into some deadzones.
PickleMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:55 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.