DCS.exe Crash upon initialising main menu - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2018, 11:01 AM   #1
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,958
Default DCS.exe Crash upon initialising main menu

Since updating to 2.5.1 DCS will crash out just before getting to the Main menu. DCS.log stops at just before initialising DirectX (comparing against older logs I have), no crash dump is provided - the only information is the below.

Problem Event Name: BEX64
Application Name: DCS.exe
Application Version: 2.5.1.16543
Application Timestamp: 5adf71a0
Fault Module Name: StackHash_77b3
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0

Any Ideas?

EDIT:- I've tried completly resetting the DCS config, by renaming all DCS folders in my C:\user profile, same result.

Nate
Attached Files
File Type: zip dcs.zip (2.4 KB, 5 views)
File Type: txt DxDiag.txt (38.6 KB, 110 views)
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading

Last edited by Nate--IRL--; 04-28-2018 at 11:11 AM.
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:02 AM   #2
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

Hi Nate

if you can attach your full log

do you get a metashader pop up window?
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:11 AM   #3
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,958
Default

No, no metashader popup (I've been reading through the forum also ) Log and dxdiiag. attached in the first post now.

Even with a fresh DCS config, no metashaders the result is the same.

I've also tried disabling DEP as test and the error changes to a dxd11.dll (or similar) but still crashes at the same point.

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:14 AM   #4
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

Thanks Nate, yeah I have just been trying to google this one also.

What antivirus are you using?
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:17 AM   #5
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,958
Default

Avira Free. Will uninstall as a test........

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:19 AM   #6
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

lots of different answers on the web.

Some suggest closing all other programs to rule out that as an issue.

and then some saying to do a memory test

it is a strange one for sure
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:35 AM   #7
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,958
Default

Getting a bit further now the AV is gone, DCS is recognising it is crashing and creating its own log package (see attached).

Again something is pointing to DirextX Dlls as the faulting module.

Will try going back to 2.5.0 to see if it still occurs......

Nate
Attached Files
File Type: zip dcs.log-20180428-103058.zip (276.5 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading

Last edited by Nate--IRL--; 04-28-2018 at 11:37 AM.
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:37 AM   #8
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

Quote:
2018-04-28 10:30:59.137 INFO EDCORE: # -------------- 20180428-103058 --------------
2018-04-28 10:30:59.137 INFO EDCORE: C:\Windows\system32\d3d11.dll
2018-04-28 10:30:59.137 INFO EDCORE: # C0000005 ACCESS_VIOLATION at E65C00FD 00:00000000
2018-04-28 10:30:59.140 INFO EDCORE: 00000000 00000000 0000:00000000
2018-04-28 10:30:59.143 INFO EDCORE: E65C00FD 0013DBC0 0000:00000000 C:\Windows\system32\d3d11.dll D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain()+5
2018-04-28 10:30:59.143 INFO EDCORE: CAF432B9 0013DCD0 0000:00000000 C:\DCS World\bin\dxgi.dll D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain()+2B9
2018-04-28 10:30:59.144 INFO EDCORE: CAF42FE2 0013DDA0 0000:00000000 C:\DCS World\bin\dxgi.dll D3D11CreateDevice()+2C2
looks like display driver crash here

maybe a clean GPU driver install may help

I use DDU cleaner when I do mine, it may help
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:55 AM   #9
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,958
Default

No Joy with DDU cleaning out drivers from safe mode.... resuming the rollback to 2.5 to see if that has any effect.

Many thanks for the suggestions BIGNEWY - much appreciated.

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 11:57 AM   #10
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

no worries, let me know how you get on
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:19 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.