DCS.exe Crash upon initialising main menu - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2018, 12:20 PM   #11
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,957
Default

Grrr, no joy with 2.5. So it is something else broken. Odd that it's only the one app having the issue. Any other suggestions gratefully accepted....

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 12:30 PM   #12
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

anything changed recently Nate?

programs or windows updates?

try running in safe mode see if you get a difference
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 12:45 PM   #13
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,957
Default

So... I gave up.

Turned on my Second screen and was watching football... try DCS again on a whim... et voila, DCS loads.

Makes no sense

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 12:46 PM   #14
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

LOL that is PC's for you

at least you are up and running again.

enjoy
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:01 PM   #15
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,957
Default

Damn, no it's still broken. I'd reverted the wrong copy of DCS world to 2.5, so I was in 2.5 not 2.5.1.

I can now verify 2.5 runs perfectly and that 2.5.1 crashes every time before initialising the main menu, with both versions side by side on the computer.

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:18 PM   #16
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

rgr Nate

I will try and point ED this way, I have never seen this one before as far as I can remember.
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:20 PM   #17
BIGNEWY
Senior
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,751
Default

Nate is your windows up to date with meltdown patch?
__________________
Currently on a break, please contact NineLine for assistance. Thanks
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:32 PM   #18
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,957
Default

Much obliged BIGNEWY.

I note that only when DEP is disabled, does DCS realise it has crashed and produce crash logs. The Latest set of which are attached.

Nate
Attached Files
File Type: zip dcs.log-20180428-172815.zip (275.2 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading

Last edited by Nate--IRL--; 04-28-2018 at 06:39 PM.
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:39 PM   #19
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,957
Default

Windows updated as of today (minus the Preview rollup... April 17, 2018—KB4093113 (Preview of Monthly Rollup)

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 06:48 PM   #20
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate--IRL-- View Post
Damn, no it's still broken. I'd reverted the wrong copy of DCS world to 2.5, so I was in 2.5 not 2.5.1.

I can now verify 2.5 runs perfectly and that 2.5.1 crashes every time before initialising the main menu, with both versions side by side on the computer.

Nate
In your 2.5 is Deferred Shading disabled?
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.