HP's Reverb VR Pro Headset - Page 582 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2020, 04:43 PM   #5811
sze5003
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: US
Posts: 1,651
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
Just got my 2nd hmd replacement yesterday, the 1st replacement had a curb column line like dead pixels in inner left eye. Now that I’ve tried 3 total, it feels like they’re not all created equal. 2nd feels tracking is snappier, 3rd hmd feels like gamma is darker but with visible outer rings when looking at bright lights with dark background on peripheral. Just an advice though. Put a sort of tie to hung the hmd cable loosely towards the circular back strap. So the small cable does not twist bend 90 degrees down as it carries the rest(thick) cable.
Those all sound like refurbished units that were fixed each with parts for different reasons since they all behave differently. I would be pretty let down having to go through multiple devices. I guess I was lucky that when I sent my original back they did not have a replacement policy yet.

I did a return and reordered for brand new unit. I sure hope the G2 fairs better.
__________________
Asus ROG Strix Z370-E | Core i7 8700k @5.0Ghz-Corsair H100i v2 | 32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengence LPX 3000 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | OCZ Trion 150 960GB | 256GB Samsung 830 | 1TB Samsung 850 EVO | Asus Strix OC 1080Ti | Samsung Odyssey
sze5003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 04:47 PM   #5812
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 4,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Revs View Post
Try reset HMD and Environment on WMR settings, also uninstall the HMD Halo “something” from device manager then reseat the cable so windows will reinstall the drivers
Thanks. however, I don't have the Mixed Reality option in Settings. I have uninstalled MRP etc. both from Settings>Apps and Device Manager, but it makes no difference. Just reboot, software gets installed, everything looks good, but no display!
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · TM F/A-18 Hornet Grip · 2 x Virpil WarBRD Base · HP Reverb Pro · Virpil Throttle MT-50 CM2 · Virpil Alpha Grip
imacken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 05:20 PM   #5813
Revs
Member
 
Revs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Thanks. however, I don't have the Mixed Reality option in Settings. I have uninstalled MRP etc. both from Settings>Apps and Device Manager, but it makes no difference. Just reboot, software gets installed, everything looks good, but no display!
When you open the WMR app does the desktop screen blinks? Thats when windows adds the HMD to display to. When ever I’ll have issue with hmd not getting detected, wmr comes up without that blink, I would then disable and reenable the hmd in device mngr
__________________
Ryzen 1700 @ 3.8GHz / 32GB( 4x8 ) @ 3.2GHz / 1TB ADATA NVMe System Drive / 232GB NVMe Samsung 960 / ASUS dual RTX 2080ti / Reverb / Rift CV1 / T-16000M FCS flight pack

A10C/M2000C/F5E/SA342/Mi8/UH1H/KA50/AJS-37/FA-18C/AV-8B/F-14/Mig29/CA/SU-27
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 05:52 PM   #5814
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 4,814
Default

Sorted! I followed the advice on this page https://www.windowscentral.com/how-t...the%20Registry to get the Mixed Reality section in Settings back, and now all is well!
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · TM F/A-18 Hornet Grip · 2 x Virpil WarBRD Base · HP Reverb Pro · Virpil Throttle MT-50 CM2 · Virpil Alpha Grip
imacken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 07:26 PM   #5815
speed-of-heat
Senior Member
 
speed-of-heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,065
Default

So glad it’s working again Iain!
__________________


SYSTEM SPECS: Hardware Intel Corei7-9700K @ 5.1 GHz, 32Gb RAM, EVGA 1080ti FTW 11Gb, Dell S2716DG, Thrustmaster Warthog + MFG Crosswinds V2, HP Reverb Pro SOFTWARE: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64, VoiceAttack & VIACOM PRO, TacView, CombatFlite

VR Stuff: My 2.5.5 DCS VR Settings, My 2.5.6. DCS VR Settings, Shaders MOD for VR My variant of Kegetys mod with clear water and also IC PASS for current beta & Stable
speed-of-heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 07:53 PM   #5816
imacken
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 4,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speed-of-heat View Post
So glad it’s working again Iain!
Yep, it’s a relief! It just occurred to me earlier, why did I not have the Mixed Reality icon in Settings and then I searched and found how to get it back.
I had 4 or 5 calls with HP support with no result except sending replacements!
Oh well, all adds to the knowledge base.
__________________
Intel i7 8700K 5.0GHz · Palit RTX 2080 Ti OC Gaming Pro · ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-F · Acer 4K 32" XB321HK · Samsung 970 500Gb M.2 NVMe · Samsung 850 Evo 1Tb · 2Tb HDD · 32Gb Corsair Vengance 3000MHz DDR4 · Windows 10 · HOTAS Warthog · ThrustMaster TPR Pedals · TrackIR5 · TM F/A-18 Hornet Grip · 2 x Virpil WarBRD Base · HP Reverb Pro · Virpil Throttle MT-50 CM2 · Virpil Alpha Grip
imacken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 10:38 PM   #5817
twells555
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woody01 View Post
Ive had my Reverb for about 8 months and it died, it would just shut down (crashing me out of DCS) after about 30-60 mins. HP replaced it with a unit that is WORSE! And the lenses are not even aligned! I think it is a refurbished unit as the foam padding is already 'bedded in' to the shape of a human forehead, just not my forehead!
So pursuing a refund now and I don't think I'll bother with the G2 after a reviewer said it would shut down as well. "But HP said it will be fixed in the production model" Yea right! Not holding my breath!
When it works its pretty good, but in my case the product has not performed to expectations so going for a full refund.
@Woody01 - Wondering how you made out with your Refund? I had the G1 2nd Gen reverb for about six months and it was Rock Solid. I really loved it. But after about 6 months it started a weird flashing of stuff behind me for a second or two when I would look to the left and especially to the left and down. (I do that a lot in DCS...lol). Hard to describe... HP was great and fast to send out a replacement, but that one had the original 'flashing' and also the right lens would start constant flickering after about 10 minutes. So then they replaced the cable but the problem was not solved. Now I have just recieved a second headset replacement and this one still has the original 'flashing', but also a solid thin vertical dark line is always present in the right eye. (Man, don't they test this stuff?)...

So to say the least I'm pretty frustrated and am thinking about just asking for a refund as well...enough is enough... So I'm wondering how you made out...

Thank you!
tim
__________________
Fargo
I9-9900, GTX1080Ti,32GRam,Pimax 5k+, HP Reverb, TM WartHog, MTG Pedals
twells555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 11:42 PM   #5818
Woody01
Member
 
Woody01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 159
Default

I'm just waiting for the G2's too arrive in the country now. The second unit they sent me was a referb or demo model or something, they did admit after a while it was not new. I got a refund in the end that is in the form of a credit with the shop I brought it off, will be spent on the G2. Other guys in my outfit are also having issues with their Reverbs, similar to what happened with mine. Such a shame really as when it works its great, it just seems they cant handle it in the long run.
__________________
The Flying Kiwis - Since ages ago...
Find us at https://www.simcentral.co.nz
Woody01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 01:26 AM   #5819
twells555
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 83
Default

@Woody01 - Thanks for the reply. I agree, I'm on my 3rd headset and second cable and still have problems with stuff they are sending. Nothing close to the way my original headset performed for the first six months. It was rock solid. Really a shame as you say.

So did HP agree to give you the credit towards the G2, or did the store you purchased from (Not bought from HP?) man up and decide to do the right thing for you? I would be fine with a credit if it were offered from HP...when it was working the Reverb was the best of the vr headsets I've used hands down. No question.
__________________
Fargo
I9-9900, GTX1080Ti,32GRam,Pimax 5k+, HP Reverb, TM WartHog, MTG Pedals
twells555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 10:55 AM   #5820
dburne
Veteran
 
dburne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,640
Default

I sure hope HP has all these issues with Reverb worked out in the G2.
Have been spoiled with the great quality of the Oculus , with the Rift CV1, Rift S and Quest.
No telling how many hours I have in with my Rift S now without a glitch.
__________________
Don B

My VKB Gunfighter MK III Pro L Review
EVGA Z390 Dark MB | i9 9900k CPU @ 5.2 GHz | EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 | 32 GB G Skill Trident Z 3200 MHz CL14 DDR4 Ram | Corsair H150i Pro Cooler | Samsung 970 Pro, 970 Evo 1TB m.2 Nvme |VKB GF MK III Pro L | Rift S | Oculus Quest |
dburne is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:58 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.