Would you buy fictional maps? - Page 18 - ED Forums
 


Notices

View Poll Results: Would you by fictional maps?
Yes 230 32.90%
No 469 67.10%
Voters: 699. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2019, 06:08 PM   #171
Phantom_Mark
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 439
Default

1:1 maps would be my boner......
Phantom_Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 10:40 AM   #172
robert.clark251
Member
 
robert.clark251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 362
Default

Let’s go with Middle Earth. I always wanted to strafe the shire in a Huey. No but really, I love Lord of the Rings. Hobbit extracts or maybe picking up hot Elves from Rivendale.
robert.clark251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 02:14 PM   #173
MacEwan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 215
Default

I just dont see any point in a fictional map. The same time, money, and resources could be dedicated to a real world map. It's not like a fictional map would take less time and cost less.
MacEwan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 10:49 PM   #174
Outlaw24
Member
 
Outlaw24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 791
Default

No on the fictional maps
__________________
MSI 390 Carbon Pro, i7 9700K @ 4.9, Noctua NH-U14S, 32GB DDR4, MSI RTX 2080ti, Thrustmaster Warthog Throttle, VKB Gunfighter Pro, MCG Pro, MFG Crosswind Pedals, UTC MK II Pro, Dell AW3418DW Gsync monitor, 970 Pro M2 1TB (for DCS), Playseat Air Force Seat, KW-980 Jetseat, Vaicom Pro, 3X TM Cougar with Lilliput 8" screens.
Outlaw24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 03:17 AM   #175
Uxi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Southern California
Posts: 22
Default

Depends. If it was a good map, possibly though I'd want several historical maps checked off first: 2003 and 1991 Iraq, MiG Alley, Vietnam, Midway, Iwo Jima...
__________________
F/A-18C | Community A4E | FC3 F-15C, SU-27 | SU-57 mod
---
Core i9 9900k 5.0Ghz, Asus ROG Maximus Xi Hero, 32GB G.Skill Trident 3200, Asus RoG Strix 2070 OC, 1TB x Samsung Evo 970 M.2 boot. Samsung Evo 860 storage, 2 x Seagate 2TB storage (RAID 1) Coolermaster H500M, ML360R AIO
---
Samsung Odyssey+ WMR HMD; VKB Gunfighter 2 with MCG Pro + T-rudder, Virpil T-50CM v3 Throttle
Uxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 01:22 AM   #176
jross194
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [Maverick] View Post
No.

Give me DCS: Gulf War One so I can live the rest of my life a happy man!
^^^
This
__________________
i6700k 4.4mhz, 32Gb, nVidia 1080, Odyssey+, CH Products, Derek Speare Designs button box, Bass shaker w/SimShaker For Aviators
jross194 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 07:20 PM   #177
Baco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 563
Default

I think some people get the wrong idea..

A Fictional map would be a piece of desert, tundra, jungle, (insert desired terrain here) with towns, roads, bases and generic features like rivers, cosat or whatever, not neceserily depicting a specific place, so many palces can be simulates.

It is faster and cheaper because you don not have to create any specific landmark, building or special ground object, you can use the ones allready in game.

Also you don´t need to use DEM´s or accurate hight files.

I believe it would be awesom if ED could give us basic tools to create generic maps, without having to have an uber team with proven skills...

I am willing to spend countless hours placing objetcs, bases, roads and features. I just cant put toguether a team nor have enaough knoledge on 3d studio to create my own specific objects, to comply with EDs requirements to qualifie as a developer to get the SDKs.

I am sure that like me there are meny more pople out there willing to create generic maps, and stuff, that do not compeate with real places full fledge maps sold as modules... still we could have a lot more playing places if Map Modding was encouraged.

Just a thought tho.

Last edited by Baco; 12-03-2019 at 07:29 PM.
Baco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 09:30 PM   #178
Stratos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,894
Default

Problem with post title was the name "fictional", the word he should have used was GENERIC, as Baco explained above.
__________________
I don't understand anything in russian except Davai Davai!
Stratos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.