Auto Air Scoop Not Effective - ED Forums

Notices

Old 09-10-2019, 12:34 AM   #1
SPS48A

Default Auto Air Scoop Not Effective

How effective should the automatic radiator scoop doors be. I am finding not very. Seems to me it should be able to regulate temp in a normal climb or even for high power operation. I find that to keep the oil from overheating I must manually adjust the door. Is this normal? If so, what good is automatic operation?
SPS48A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 01:31 AM   #2
slickdevel

I have found the same.
Before startup I flip both to manual and give each switch one press. I monitor all the time and go auto only if the oil temps look too low and usually back to manual.

Maybe on an eight hour mission with long cruises the auto function works but it doesn't seem to for our frags.
I watched a vid from Kermit Weeks, he never uses manual, maybe we're not flying a plane with a great engine model.
Don't pay attention to me though, I'm new at this P-51.

Slick

Last edited by slickdevel; 09-10-2019 at 01:33 AM.
slickdevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 01:41 AM   #3
Magic Zach

Auto does a terrible job of keeping the engine cool. It seems in auto mode, it will never fully open.

Before startup, just knock the coolant door down to manual, and leave oil in auto so it warms up while on the ground. Once the oil passes 40C, flip the coolant door to auto. After takeoff, if you are going to do any fast and/or aggressive flying or climbing, fully open the oil door manually, but you can keep the coolant in auto.
With this, you can climb at ~175MPH IAS at 3000RPM and 55inches, though that is about the limit of it.
Old 09-10-2019, 06:22 AM   #4
grafspee

Auto is for maximum performance not minimum temps.
Auto exactly is doing what should do.
At cruise setting it will hold temps in green in high power settings it will hold high temps.