Screen capture from VR - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2019, 04:30 AM   #1
daarseth
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 431
Default Screen capture from VR

Apologies if this is not in the correct spot, was unsure whether to post here or in the VR section of the forums.....

I am wondering if there is a way to change the screen recording (I use Oculus Rift CV1) format somehow, so instead of getting a "vertical" style layout (like what is displayed on the monitor when you are using VR), and get more of the standard "16:9" or "full screen" style layout/image?

If that doesn't make sense, please see this video (or any of the others on my channel), it will only take a few seconds of watching to understand what I am talking about in regards to the picture.

Comparison video 1:
https://youtu.be/bVE-KM9Z88c Flight sim video

DCS seems to format the image on the monitor differently, compared to "this driving sim" that I also use, all with the same computer and VR, and same screen capture method (LWin+LAlt+R) just a wheel and pedals rather than a HOTAS.

Comparison video 2:
https://youtu.be/ipufM4N3n80 Race sim video

If you want to see some quick action there, just for fun, skip to 00:38 and watch the following 5 seconds. Amateurs

Anyways, just would love to get a screen capture and future ones showing more of what I actually experience in DCS, rather than what it shows in the screen capture. Haven't found a way to change the format as of yet.

Thanks for any help, if there is anything that can be done about it. If not, thanks for caring enough to read.


Cheers,

Don
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 4x8GB (32GB ram), GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig ssd drives (one solely for most up to date DCS openBeta stand alone form). Currently using a stock TM’ Warthog HOTAS

Last edited by daarseth; 08-29-2019 at 04:33 AM.
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 07:20 AM   #2
Tailhook
Member
 
Tailhook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 226
Default

Crop.
__________________
https://www.twitch.tv/tailhook

ASUS X79 Deluxe : Intel i7 4930k : 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400 : EVGA GTX1080 FTW : 2x WD VelociRaptor 500GB (R0)
TM HOTAS Warthog : TM Pendulum Rudders : TM Cougar MFD's : Oculus Rift CV1 : A quarter-ton of Mountain Dew
Tailhook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 09:58 AM   #3
59thCasper
Junior Member
 
59thCasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 58
Default

use oculus mirror and record that window or crop it down using OBS
__________________
59th | Casper


Our Website | Our Facebook Page | YouTube Channel | Our Discord

System : 9900k 5ghz, 32GB 4166mhz Ram, 2080Ti, Hotas Warthog, Virpil WarBRD base, MFG Crosswinds, VR + TrackIR, All Modules For DCS

59thCasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 05:52 PM   #4
daarseth
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 59thCasper View Post
use oculus mirror and record that window or crop it down using OBS
Thank you for the replies, to the other poster as well. I will check out the Oculus mirror first.



Cheers,

Don
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 4x8GB (32GB ram), GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig ssd drives (one solely for most up to date DCS openBeta stand alone form). Currently using a stock TM’ Warthog HOTAS
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2019, 07:32 PM   #5
daarseth
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 59thCasper View Post
use oculus mirror and record that window or crop it down using OBS
Opened Oculus Mirror, but for some reason it wouldn't record that window (probably because DCS needed to be the active window to be able to click on the cockpits controls and fly the aircraft. Or probably because I am doing something wrong and don't understand how to actually use the program. Oh well, thanks for the help but guess I'll just stick with the undesirable image.

Cheers,

Don
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 4x8GB (32GB ram), GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig ssd drives (one solely for most up to date DCS openBeta stand alone form). Currently using a stock TM’ Warthog HOTAS
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 04:43 AM   #6
59thCasper
Junior Member
 
59thCasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daarseth View Post
Opened Oculus Mirror, but for some reason it wouldn't record that window (probably because DCS needed to be the active window to be able to click on the cockpits controls and fly the aircraft. Or probably because I am doing something wrong and don't understand how to actually use the program. Oh well, thanks for the help but guess I'll just stick with the undesirable image.

Cheers,

Don
Use obs to record the window buddy, it’s a free recording software that does an amazing job. Highly recommend , you can use it to record the stretch window and crop it down too if u chose that. Do a search on google for obs and oculus mirror or check out jabbers vid on obs and the stretched window
__________________
59th | Casper


Our Website | Our Facebook Page | YouTube Channel | Our Discord

System : 9900k 5ghz, 32GB 4166mhz Ram, 2080Ti, Hotas Warthog, Virpil WarBRD base, MFG Crosswinds, VR + TrackIR, All Modules For DCS

59thCasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 06:29 AM   #7
Mule
Senior Member
 
Mule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,234
Default

As others have said OBS is the way to go. You’ve described the exact same problem I had while trying to record the screen in VR. Took me many hours of frustration and different programs to finally get to OBS.
Mule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 12:55 AM   #8
daarseth
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 431
Default

Copy that folks, I will check out the OBS software when I am back and try it out. Will be pretty happy if I can sort it out. Thanks very much, looking forward to it!

Cheers,

Don
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 4x8GB (32GB ram), GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig ssd drives (one solely for most up to date DCS openBeta stand alone form). Currently using a stock TM’ Warthog HOTAS
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 04:05 PM   #9
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 59thCasper View Post
use oculus mirror and record that window or crop it down using OBS
Run Oculus Mirror at 1080P / 1440P / 2160P and it automatically crops out the top/bottom and FoV FishEye effect.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, HAF922, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz, Creative XFi Plat. Fatal1ty Champion,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Acer AL2002 (5760x1080+1600x900+1680x1050)
TM Warthog HOTAS, TM MFDs, CH Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR4 Pro
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 05:24 PM   #10
daarseth
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: America
Posts: 431
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkateZilla View Post
Run Oculus Mirror at 1080P / 1440P / 2160P and it automatically crops out the top/bottom and FoV FishEye effect.
I couldn’t see how to adjust any settings within the mirror program, and when keeping it as the active window, it wouldn’t allow me to toggle/select/change settings within DCS while flying. And it still recorded DCS in the “skinny” view like the monitor shows. Used google and seems that adjustments for the mirror software required command/script changes, but was unsure exactly where I was supposed to accomplish that.

Cheers,

Don
__________________
i7 6700 @4ghz, 4x8GB (32GB ram), GTX980, Oculus Rift CV1, 2x400 gig ssd drives (one solely for most up to date DCS openBeta stand alone form). Currently using a stock TM’ Warthog HOTAS
daarseth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:56 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.