How is Combined Arms in VR? - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2017, 02:40 PM   #11
BitMaster
Veteran
 
BitMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SW-Germany
Posts: 6,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye60 View Post
The last time I tried it, a while ago, I set a a tank battle and hopped into the fray.
I decided to get out of my tank and climb on top for a better view of the battlefield.
I did this with the wife's help and a handy step stool.

As I was surveying the battlefield some lucky Bastard scored a direct hit upon my tank!

With me on top!

I nearly fell off the stool and would have if not for the wife's steadying hand.

I was quite dead!

Did the same sort of thing with B-29 bombers on a runway.

I die all the time this way!
Great fun!

Just Excellent !!!! Haha, cudos to your better half
__________________
Asus Strix Z370-E - Intel i7-8700K@5G_delidded - 32GB - Asus 1080GTX-Ti Poseidon - 1x 960Evo 250GB - 2x 850Pro 256GB Raid-0 - 1 x 840 Evo 250GB PageFile - 2x Seagate 2TB - Heatkiller IV - MoRa3-360LT@4x180mm fans - Corsair AXi-1200 - TiR5-Pro - Warthog Hotas - Saitek Combat Pedals - Asus PG278Q 27" WQHD Gsync 144Hz - Oculus Rift VR - Win10Pro64 - Slave to the Machine
BitMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 09:27 PM   #12
Jack McCoy
Member
 
Jack McCoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 346
Default

VR boy here, just bought CA. Not usable without a barf bag.

Quick patch suggestion?

Code:
if (vr_enabled)
{
    vr_head_azimuth   *= -1;
    vr_head_elevation *= -1;
}
Jack McCoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 09:23 AM   #13
pappavis
Member
 
pappavis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orania Volksrepubliek
Posts: 612
Send a message via MSN to pappavis Send a message via Yahoo to pappavis
Default

CA is unplayable in VR.
Its 2d only. Its a trackIR screen mounted on your eyes. No 3d cockpit, no 6DOF.
Aiming accurate is impossible, The turret and your head are in no sync. Example. The T-90 tank turret is aimed 0 degrees ahead, while u looking 45 degrees right and up, thats where the targeting stuff looks too .

All-in-all. Combined Arms in VR is total bullshit.
__________________
met vriendelijke groet,
Михель

"умный, спортсмен, комсомолетс"

<a href=http://159thgar.com/forums/index.php target=_blank><a href=http://www.the159th.com/sigs/159th_pappavis.jpg target=_blank>http://www.the159th.com/sigs/159th_pappavis.jpg</a></a>

SPECS: i9-9900K 32gigs RAM, Geforce 980GTX 4Gb, Creative XFi Fata1ity, TIR5, Valve Index & HP Reverb, HOTAS Warthog, Logitech G933 Headset, 10Tb storage.

Last edited by pappavis; 12-16-2017 at 07:59 PM.
pappavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 07:53 PM   #14
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack McCoy View Post
VR boy here, just bought CA. Not usable without a barf bag.

Quick patch suggestion?

Code:
if (vr_enabled)
{
    vr_head_azimuth   *= -1;
    vr_head_elevation *= -1;
}
Just tested CA in VR. Still the same, though bizarrely, it's fine in the isometric view.
I can't help but think that this really should be a VERY easy fix to reverse the view direction in 1st person mode.
How about it ED? Would turn CA into something genuinely playable and fun.
__________________
System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 1080, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, VPC HOTAS, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.
Section 8 Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 24GB DDR3, SSD.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 09:20 PM   #15
huggy98
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 26
Default

"isn't quite there yet" it has been exactly the same for ages. ED knows about it and is doing nothing about it.
huggy98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 12:23 AM   #16
BlacleyCole
Senior Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,456
Default

Can the stick and throttle be used in ca? Otherwise I’d say no for vr if you must use keyboard
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram


New FlightSim Blog at https://blackeysblog.wordpress.com. Go visit it and leave me feedback and or comments so I can make it better
BlacleyCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 11:16 PM   #17
Ahogephilia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 4
Default

I thought C.A project was abandoned.
Ahogephilia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 09:04 AM   #18
Zarma
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,020
Default

Working fine in 2D but total crap in VR. Sad we don't have a way to change 2D-3D in game without restarting.
__________________
i7 6700k, 32 Go RAM, GTX 1080, Warthog HOTAS Throttle & Stick, Saitek Combat Rudder, (MFD Cougar) (Trackir 5 Pro) Oculus Rift CV1

http://www.twitch.tv/zarma4074 / https://www.youtube.com/user/Zarma4074
Zarma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 09:51 AM   #19
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,504
Default

This has been raised as a bug
I’m utterly amazed that it’s not been fixed, as it appears to be a VERY easy to resolve problem.

Every member of my current squadron is a Rift VR user, yet I can’t recommend CA to them at present.
Come on ED, please throw a man days time at this to resolve.
__________________
System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 1080, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, VPC HOTAS, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.
Section 8 Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 24GB DDR3, SSD.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 07:52 PM   #20
Mr_sukebe
Senior Member
 
Mr_sukebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,504
Default

Just confirming. This issue is still in existence.
Can these please be added to the known bugs for 2.5.2.
__________________
System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 1080, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, VPC HOTAS, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.
Section 8 Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 24GB DDR3, SSD.
Mr_sukebe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:28 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.