Keyguide For FC3 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2013, 01:00 AM   #1
Wadeyboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Default Keyguide For FC3

I can't find a keyguide for FC3 anywhere. The new manuals are excellent but none of them have just a keyguide that you can either print out and put on your lap to refer to as you play, or in my case, I just got a small monitor off a friend so that I can have the manual/keyguide displayed on that to refer to while I play the game, which I have displayed on my flat screen tv.
I have the keyguide for LOMAC obviously but there are a lot of changes in FC3 plus I've also been told that all the keys are being changed or have already been, in an update.
Unfortunately (and maybe you can tell me why), when you click on the manual or keyguide displayed on the smaller monitor to change page or scroll down, the game running on my main display minimizes to the task bar, although it does keep on running because I can still hear the sound and you can click on it on the task bar to bring it back onto the screen. But this is a big pain in the backside when you have to refer to the manuals so often with such complex games as the DCS series. On the Steam version it's even worse because it moves the manual nearly completely off the screen of the smaller monitor. I thought that in these days of only getting manuals in PDF format which are prohibitively expensive to print out on an inkjet printer, getting the smaller monitor and having the manual to refer to on that, would be a great workaround to no longer getting a physical manual like you used to in the old days of PC Gaming, where you could have it on your lap to refer to as you played. It does actually work in a lot of games (although not any on Steam) but unfortunately not in any of the DCS World modules (I also have the A10C, KA50 2 and the Huey which I bought on Steam). But because I have LOMAC and wanted to get FC3, I now use the non Steam version of DCS World (there was no way I was going to buy each of the FC3 planes individually, which is what you have to do to play FC3 aircraft on Steam. Providing they release all the aircraft featured in FC3, it would end up setting you back over £120!).
Anyway, back to my original question, where is the FC3 keyguide to be found please?
Wadeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 01:06 AM   #2
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,586
Default

There isn't one.

You can, however, use the 'Make HTML' button when you are in Options>Controls. This will create a set of html files one of which will be 'keyboard.html' You can print that as is but a better solution is to import it into a spreadsheet program so that you can sort/organize it.

You will have to do this for each aircraft.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:11 AM   #3
Wadeyboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for that cichlidfan. I have to say though that really sucks. I've never come across a flight sim in all my years in gaming that doesn't have a keyguide! That is a severe oversight and one which ED need to rectify asap. A flight sim with all those different aircraft and no keyguide? Outrageous and lazy on behalf of ED and there's no excuse!
Wadeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:28 AM   #4
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,586
Default

With all due respect, I don't recall seeing one for Cliffs of Dover (beyond the description section of the manual which does not list keys). The key map for Rise of Flight has been out of date for years and the manual has them spread out through the pertinent section of the manual. War Thunder (if you want to count it) also does not provide a key map outside of the game. Nor does BMS.

FSX does have one, as does AeroflyFS and I can't recall what XPlane 10 provides.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:31 AM   #5
Wadeyboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Can you tell me where it saves these HTML files to please because I did what you said but I've just gone through the DCS World directories, but couldn't find any HTML files anywhere? Thankyou
Wadeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:38 AM   #6
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 19,586
Default

They will be in ..\Saved Games\DCS\InputLayoutsTxt\*aircraft name*
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, VKB Gladiator Pro, Saitek X56, et. al., MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:39 AM   #7
Wadeyboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
With all due respect, I don't recall seeing one for Cliffs of Dover (beyond the description section of the manual which does not list keys). The key map for Rise of Flight has been out of date for years and the manual has them spread out through the pertinent section of the manual. War Thunder (if you want to count it) also does not provide a key map outside of the game. Nor does BMS.

FSX does have one, as does AeroflyFS and I can't recall what XPlane 10 provides.
Maybe so but they are simulating much older aircraft that don't require so many key commands to memorise. As for Cliffs Of Dover, there is a mod called Team Fusion mod which has a keyguide, BMS uses many of the same keys as Falcon 4 which came with a keyguide and Rise Of Flight has one you can print out from their website (although I maybe mistaking that for one of it's fan websites).
Wadeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 05:41 AM   #8
Wadeyboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Anyway, thankyou very much for your help cichildfan. Much appreciated
Wadeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 08:29 AM   #9
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,180
Default

DCS World Keyboard Charts



__________________

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2013, 10:08 PM   #10
Wadeyboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Wow! Thankyou PeterP. That's brilliant!
Wadeyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:07 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.