BRU-41 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2019, 05:16 PM   #1
joojoo
Member
 
joojoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Greece
Posts: 173
Default BRU-41

hello to all


I just want to ask what kind of armament are the BRU-41A and in what type of missions are thwy useful.


Thanx
joojoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 05:45 PM   #2
bfr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 36
Default

Its not an armament but rather a type of bomb rack (only used to hold the training bombs on the DCS Hornet). Although curiously there are edited out lines in the lua where you can carry 6x Mk82s per wing station.

EDIT: Whilst you can un-comment and then load the 6xMk82 racks, it doesn't seem to let you drop all the bombs off of them (tried 4 racks on the wings and it'd only let you release 8 of the 24 bombs). Shame, could've been a hoot in SP to mess around with.

Last edited by bfr; 09-15-2019 at 09:34 PM.
bfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 05:55 PM   #3
Ramsay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joojoo View Post
I just want to ask what kind of armament are the BRU-41A and in what type of missions are they useful.
The BRU-41/A is a IMER (Improved Multiple Ejector Rack), it carries 6 BDU-33 Inert Training Bombs (25 lb with a smoke cartridge) in DCS.

The BDU-33 is used for weapons training.

Ramsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 05:57 PM   #4
Preendog
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 122
Default

Bomb racks don't do any damage, I've tried.
Preendog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 06:12 PM   #5
WOPR
Member
 
WOPR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Preendog View Post
Bomb racks don't do any damage, I've tried.

You must be doing something wrong. Try beating your head on one.
WOPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 06:38 PM   #6
=Panther=
Member
 
=Panther='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOPR View Post
You must be doing something wrong. Try beating your head on one.
This
__________________
Twitch Channel


Virtual Thunderbirds, LLC | Sponsored by Thrustmaster
Spoiler:
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO, i7 6700k, G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB, 1080ti 11GB, Obutto R3Volution, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog, TPR, Cougar MFDs, JetSeat, Oculus Rift S, Buddy-Fox A-10C UFC
=Panther= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 07:54 AM   #7
Cassiop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: France
Posts: 17
Default

bru-41a with mk82a used to work correctly until a certain patch broke it. i addressed the bug for the training variant and it was fixed but unfortunatly that didn't fixe the mk82 variant. (which it make me wonder how poorly bugs are patched...) after repporting the bug on the MK82's it was moved into "wish list" by a moderator
Cassiop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 09:53 AM   #8
Ramsay
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 1,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassiop View Post
bru-41a with mk82a used to work correctly until a certain patch broke it. i addressed the bug for the training variant and it was fixed but unfortunatly that didn't fixe the mk82 variant. (which it make me wonder how poorly bugs are patched...) after repporting the bug on the MK82's it was moved into "wish list" by a moderator
AFAIK the BRU-41/A has only ever been cleared for use with Flares, practice bombs and Laser Guided Training Rounds.

AFAIK there were never any BRU-41 test flights done with MK-80 bombs due to aerodynamics, flutter, and the ejection force provided to the bombs from the IMER.

There's a picture of a Hornet carrying 28 Mk-82's (4 x 6 underwing and 3 + 1 centerline to clear the landing gear doors) but it's an airshow static, not an operational loadout.

Hence your "bug report" has been move to the wish list.

If you wish to see Mk-82's return to the BRU-41/A (as a legacy loadout), you'll need to find documentation that it was used operationally, probably from the 90's and PM a dev/moderator (due to rule 1.16).
Ramsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 10:21 AM   #9
Kazius
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOPR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Preendog
Bomb racks don't do any damage, I've tried.
You must be doing something wrong. Try beating your head on one.
I can't stop laughing.
Kazius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 11:51 PM   #10
Preendog
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 122
Default

Racks should at least kill troops and trucks. Same for drop tanks. Even a jettisoned canopy would be deadly with a direct hit; it's gotta weigh more than a refrigerator.

28 MK82s

We need this yesterday.
Preendog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
armament

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:36 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.