F5E Panel dimensions - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2016, 02:46 PM   #1
VampireOne
Junior Member
 
VampireOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 88
Default F5E Panel dimensions

Having flown the t38 many years ago, I got switched on by the F5E in DCS... Oups.... Potential financial and social de-route.....

Does anyone here have the dimensions for the panels of the Tiger? Could be an interesting project to build a F5 pit.....
VampireOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 01:17 PM   #2
rubylight
Junior Member
 
rubylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 15
Default

Hey Vampire,

I deleted my earlier post because i found out the numbers i used in that were quite off.
I've since then done some digging, and found out that the placement of DZus-rings (those screws used to attach the panels, which are always a given size) in the gamemodel are actually wrong! Look up my posts in the thread "Trying to understand panel construction". So simply 'counting the dzus-rows' ingame will give you wrong numbers; i've learned that the hard way.

Anyway, i went and started remodeling - these are my best estimates so far...
At least i know the O2-panel is indeed 5 3/4" by 3"; that's been confirmed by user Deadman..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled1.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	179643   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled2.jpg
Views:	344
Size:	190.3 KB
ID:	179644   Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled3.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	221.9 KB
ID:	179645  

rubylight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 06:17 PM   #3
marques
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 59
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rubylight View Post
Hey Vampire,

I deleted my earlier post because i found out the numbers i used in that were quite off.
I've since then done some digging, and found out that the placement of DZus-rings (those screws used to attach the panels, which are always a given size) in the gamemodel are actually wrong! Look up my posts in the thread "Trying to understand panel construction". So simply 'counting the dzus-rows' ingame will give you wrong numbers; i've learned that the hard way.

Anyway, i went and started remodeling - these are my best estimates so far...
At least i know the O2-panel is indeed 5 3/4" by 3"; that's been confirmed by user Deadman..
thanks a lot for the measures, I´ll put them to good use.
Could you please share the model? I guess it´s in sketchup...
marques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 03:57 PM   #4
rubylight
Junior Member
 
rubylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 15
Default

It's indeed made in Sketch-up.
I'm considering to share it, but i've got to do the entire front-/instrument-panels, and make sure that the sizes of the rest of the cockpit are correct.
I've found out for instance that the two 'boxes' i designed are way too high...
rubylight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2018, 11:10 AM   #5
VampireOne
Junior Member
 
VampireOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 88
Default

Rubylight; OUT f.... standing.... thank you . I am using Blue73s idea of printing the panels and boxes, wiring it up with switches and interconnecting the boxes for transportation.
I will not bother with the complete panel with instruments just yet, as the pit will be designed for use with VR. So basically only the switch panels on the front and side panels are planned.
Would you happen to have the measurements for the armament, gear and jettison panel? I have guestimated the measurements based on switch size and the panel picture from the manual, just upscaling as necessary.
Or, if you have the dimensions of the front panel I would be happy.. I have started to use Fusion 360 and a Prusa i3 Mk3 arriving on tuesday... Xmas comes early this year.......

This project is in its infancy and will take some time, but I will gladly share anything of interest to anyone.... collecting advice on the road as I only have a basic understanding of the electronics and programming involved... man.. what did I get myself into....
__________________
If you are still under control you are not going fast enough
VampireOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 11:03 AM   #6
aymen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: tunis
Posts: 19
Default

hi vampire
did u have the cockpit panels dimension of f-5e
aymen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 03:00 PM   #7
VampireOne
Junior Member
 
VampireOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aymen View Post
hi vampire
did u have the cockpit panels dimension of f-5e


Nope. Still looking for Them. They seem to be a closely guarded secret.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
If you are still under control you are not going fast enough
VampireOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 12:42 AM   #8
Spitty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 26
Default

Slice and dice a 3D model of the F5 maybe?
Spitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 05:41 AM   #9
Deadman
Veteran
 
Deadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,136
Default

guys a lot of the panel measurement have been covered in the past. Many control panels are use in several air craft, your going to have to do some research don't expect some one to find every thing for you for free.
__________________
https://www.shapeways.com/shops/a-10c-warthog-supplies
CNCs and Laser engravers are great but they can't do squat with out a precise set of plans.
Deadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 08:48 AM   #10
VampireOne
Junior Member
 
VampireOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 88
Default F5E Panel dimensions

Deaman. No need to get huffy.
There is no intention of getting anything for free Here. Just a legitimate question for work already done As to not have it duplicated.
Could We please keep an adult and helpful tone Here.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
If you are still under control you are not going fast enough

Last edited by VampireOne; 10-21-2018 at 08:56 AM.
VampireOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:30 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.