[FIXED]Repair tool deletes hard drive content if using custom downloads folder - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2020, 09:59 PM   #1
Requiem_Alpha
Junior Member
 
Requiem_Alpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Vienna
Posts: 83
Default [FIXED]Repair tool deletes hard drive content if using custom downloads folder

It seems to me something went wrong with the Updater upate from 10th of July.
After running the repair and accepting to delete all leftover files, the updater parsed the whole hard drive and deleted everything, including the parallel install of the stable version and other folders not even associated with DCS.
__________________
Crowbar Inc.: "We deliver pain."
Requiem_Alpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 10:06 PM   #2
Dagger71
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 671
Default

I would even post this under the root forum directory DCS world 2.5 to get everyone’s attention! This has the potential for catastrophic loss on a client computer!
Dagger71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 10:17 PM   #3
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Requiem_Alpha View Post
It seems to me something went wrong with the Updater upate from 10th of July.
After running the repair and accepting to delete all leftover files, the updater parsed the whole hard drive and deleted everything, including the parallel install of the stable version and other folders not even associated with DCS.
I didn't experience any issues with that update, but will make a backup copy of my DCS drive, just in case, thanks for the warning.

Usually I would check the autoupdate_log.txt file (located on the DCS folder) to get more clues as to what happened .. but I assume that in this case that file was lost among the rest, isnt it?
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 10:26 PM   #4
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 22,012
Default

Hi all

I am seeing strange things when I test it on my open beta, I have reported to the team.

thank you
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
On vacation until 14th August

Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 10:41 PM   #5
SkateZilla
Moderator/ED Testers Team
 
SkateZilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 18,716
Default

This is truly odd behavior,

If possible, dont write anything to the drive and use the new Windows File Recovery Tool (Free on Windows Store), to see if it can recover data before its overwritten.

if possible recover all dcs auto updater logs.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro, Ryzen 2700X @ 4.6Ghz, 32GB DDR4-3200 GSkill,
X470 Taichi Ultimate, 2x R7970 Lightnings Crossfired @ 1.1/6.0GHz,
3x ASUS VS248HP + Hanns·G HZ201HPB + Oculus HMD,
Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS + MFDs, CH Fighterstick+Pro Throttle+Pro Pedals
SkateZilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 11:09 PM   #6
Worrazen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 1,437
Default

Shut down the affected drive immediately while you sort your options, there could be other things in background trying to write to it.

If it's a partition and you need other partitions on the same disk, go to Computer Management - Disk Management, select the one that was deleted and right click "Change Drive Letter and Paths" and "Remove". But you can do the same if it's a whole HDD, as long as it's not writtable.

And this means IMMEDIATELY!

Once you get rid of any background programs or anything that could write anything to that partition sorted out, install the recovery tools suggested, or also PhotoRec (part of TestDisk)

PhotorecQ.exe for GUI version of the program.

Only assign the letter to your HDD or partition prior to now, but make sure you select another letter unlike before, some letter you never used before is best.

Then start up Photorec and select to scan all extensions (should be default?) and you'll see from there ... check out tutorials for more details.
__________________
Temporairly off for PC Maintenance - DCS not installed - Specs will change
Specs: Win10 x64 1607/14393, 1440p@75"32 - CPU: Intel Core i7 3820 @ 4.0GHz - GPU: Radeon RX 480 8GB - RAM: 32 GB, DCS SSD Samsung 860 EVO 250GB, Saitek Cyborg X/FLY5 joystick.
Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, Mig-21Bis, M-2000C, AJS-37, WW2AP, CA, FC3, SuperCarrier.
Terrains: NTTR, Normandy, Persian Gulf, Syria
Worrazen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 12:30 AM   #7
finn1978
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Finland
Posts: 35
Default

wow
__________________
GrumpyFinn
finn1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 12:38 AM   #8
dsrtfx
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 15
Default

Okay, I ... I don't think I'm going to ever touch that Repair tool ever again. I can't, I've got pictures of family, of vacations, and home videos from VHS...I can't risk all that by using a DCS tool, what the heck!
dsrtfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 12:46 AM   #9
7Seyo7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsrtfx View Post
Okay, I ... I don't think I'm going to ever touch that Repair tool ever again. I can't, I've got pictures of family, of vacations, and home videos from VHS...I can't risk all that by using a DCS tool, what the heck!
Back that stuff up now, before you need it! Hard drives can (and will eventually) fail.
7Seyo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2020, 01:07 AM   #10
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsrtfx View Post
... , I've got pictures of family, of vacations, and home videos from VHS...I can't risk all that by using a DCS tool, what the heck!
You are risking them already if you don't have a backup copy.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.