Normandy Map Suggestion - REMOVE the ALGs - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2018, 04:42 PM   #1
philstyle
Member
 
philstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: The Aeotearoan Republic of Niederbayern
Posts: 822
Default Normandy Map Suggestion - REMOVE the ALGs

ED, how about removing the ALGs from the Normandy map, and instead including a set of "airfield" type assets to the mission builder, similar to this MOD?



This would give the map itself a historical "life" from 1940/41 to August 1944, instead of the current June-August 1944 period.

Mission makers and server hosts could then determine where bases could be put, if they wanted, thus simulating all sorts of pre-invasion scenarios.

Then, as more aircraft modules are developed, the base map would not need to change.
Cost/ development time savings. Profit.
philstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 05:02 PM   #2
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 3,168
Default

I know the optionality of the airfields has been requested several times, along with options to hide them or use field bases. I don't think ED has the tech ready for that but I'm no expert.
__________________
“Six better fuses and we would have lost.”
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 08:35 PM   #3
MJDixon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 23
Default

Would certainly make the map a lot more dynamic, and also open up the option of building WW2 era airfields for the period aircraft on the other maps that would otherwise require the use of modern airbases.
MJDixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2018, 03:07 PM   #4
SyntaxError
Member
 
SyntaxError's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Proving Grounds
Posts: 377
Default

This would be great. It would be nice to have the option, especially for the Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer ALG so that an Omaha Beach mission can be done.
__________________
South African fire fighting Huey skins - My DCS Screenshots

FC3 - L-39C/ZA - A-10C - Ka-50 - UH-1H - Mi-8MTV2 - F-86F - P-51D - BF-109K - CA
SyntaxError is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 07:35 AM   #5
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 1,226
Default

Adding airfields dynamically is apparently very problematic, as you have already seen, if you have read the thread from the team that created that airfield.

What ED might be able to do is have the ALG be an ME asset. I'm not saying it would necessarily be simply to create, but they could hypothetically have 2 predefined 'tiles' in the map per ALG position. In the ME the mission creator could check-off whether an ALG is used, or the pre-ALG landscape.

Since the ALG are already defined, that would be no extra work. The pre-ALG landscape should also be no biggy. Creating a system for selecting and merging tiles might just be a real bitch, but I'm just guessing.
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:35 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.