ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   Mods and Apps (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=89)
-   -   Kneeboard Builder (windows app) (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=129341)

buedi 10-05-2014 09:19 AM

I didnĀ“t try this yet, but maybe someone can answer me a question:
Is it possible to display more than one Kneeboard or at least create Kneeboard pages bigger than the default Kneeboard in DCS?

The reason why I ask: I have a 2nd screen here with 2 Cougar MFDs on it. When I fly the KA-50 and the A-10 they serve a good purpose. But for other Aircrafts like the Huey or the Sabre, I use the MFD buttons for some cockpit buttons. Having 2 Kneeboards or at least one bigger one placed right behind the MFDs would allow to show the Key -> Button assignments in the MFDs. Like a replacement of the inlets you normally use on the Cougar MFDs for stuff like that :-)

AlaskanGrizzly 10-05-2014 11:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by buedi (Post 2199042)
Is it possible to display more than one Kneeboard or at least create Kneeboard pages bigger than the default Kneeboard in DCS?

I don't think you can have two kneeboards, but you can change the size of the kneeboard. There is a feature in my program that helps you with that under Options -> Kneeboard Settings -> Size and Position.

airdoc 10-11-2014 05:27 PM

Hi Grizzly,

I tried to use your application but ran into some issues :
- at first I started importing specific pages from the pdf manual and created a kneeboard for the P51. However, since many of these pdf pages needed some process, i started manipulating their saved png counterparts with MS paint, only to find out that the saved changes were lost if i switched between kneeboards. I tried to import manually .png files but the application wouldn't accept them, it seems that it imports only pdfs. A complete custom kneeboard would usually have more than one sources of input, i.e. besides pages of the pdf manual, some users would like to create copies of keyboard binds, procedures, etc, which would be made by using printscreen and save as image. Do you think you could modify the software in order to accept manual import of jpegs, pngs, etc directly into an existing custom kneeboard and merging them?

- How does the custom kneeboard images work in conjuction with the built-in ones for a mission? Are all images available or some only, and at what order of appearance? If a user creates a custom kneeboard, would this be unavailable if he were to fly a mission in multiplayer?? (replaced by the mission designer's one?).

sorry if these questions have already been answered in previous parts of the thread, no time to go through all posts

great mod

thanks a lot for putting this together

AlaskanGrizzly 10-12-2014 03:21 AM

Thanks for your questions airdoc. Sorry for the confusion, I have not had a chance to write the manual or make any tutorials yet.

Quote:

Originally Posted by airdoc (Post 2202792)
since many of these pdf pages needed some process, i started manipulating their saved png counterparts with MS paint, only to find out that the saved changes were lost if i switched between kneeboards.

If you want to make modifications to an image, you need to modify the images in the 'Import Groups Folder' not the 'Custom Kneeboard Folders'

To go to the 'Import Groups Folder', in the menu bar click on 'View -> Import Groups Folder'. This is the permanant location for the imported images and where the images are copied from when creating a Custom Kneeboard.

The 'Custom Kneeboard Folders' are only temporary as they are changed anytime you clear or build kneeboards. These folders are where DCS looks to build the kneeboards within the simulation.

I hope that makes sense.


Quote:

Originally Posted by airdoc (Post 2202792)
Do you think you could modify the software in order to accept manual import of jpegs, pngs, etc directly into an existing custom kneeboard and merging them?


There is already a feature that allows the import of image files, although it is located in a different area than the .pdf import.

To import custom images:

1) Click on the 'Create Custom Kneeboard' tab

2) Click on an 'Available Group' that you want to add your custom images or add a new group by clicking on the 'New' button

3) With your group selected click on the 'Modify' button. This will open the group modify dialog.

4) To import your images to the group, click on the 'Import Images' button.

5) Navigate to and select the images you want to import. You can select multiple images at once.

6) Click on the 'Open' button

7) Reorder the images to your liking by clicking on an image and using the 'up' and 'down' arrow buttons on the left of the dialog. You can remove images by clicking the checkbox to to the left of the image name and click on the 'Removed Checked' button.

8) Click on 'Save' and your images will be renamed to match the group and place them in the correct order within the group.

Quote:

Originally Posted by airdoc (Post 2202792)
How does the custom kneeboard images work in conjuction with the built-in ones for a mission? Are all images available or some only, and at what order of appearance? If a user creates a custom kneeboard, would this be unavailable if he were to fly a mission in multiplayer?? (replaced by the mission designer's one?).

There are basically five kneeboard types:

1) Semi-Interactive Maps
-cannot be modified
-visible in all aircraft

2) Default Kneeboard
-images pulled from 'Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Bazar\Terrain\Kneeboard' directory
-contains the aerodrome charts by default
-images visible in all aircraft
-any images saved in this folder are lost when DCS World is updated or repaired

3) General Custom Kneeboard (called 'General DCS World Kneeboard' in my program)
-images pulled from 'Saved Games\DCS\Kneeboard' directory
-images visible in all aircraft
-images are safe during DCS World updates or repairs

4) Aircraft Specific Custom Kneeboard
-images pulled from 'Saved Games\DCS\Kneeboard\(aircraft name)' directory
-images visible only to that specific aircraft
-images are safe during DCS World updates or repairs

5) Mission Kneeboard
-images pulled from the.miz file's 'KNEEBOARD' directory
-images visible to all aircraft unless they are in an aircraft specific folder

These kneeboards are displayed in game in the above order(the Mission Kneeboard may actually display between 2 and 3, I can't remember) and independent of each other so they will not get mixed around.

Within those kneeboards, the order the images are grouped and displayed is based on their filename. Kneeboard Builder saves the images with the following naming convention:

'001-Emergency Procedures-005.png'
'Group Order Number - Group Name - Image Order Number'

The kneeboard groups the images together based on their group name and orders the images within their groups based on the image order number.

The groups are ordered by their group order number.


Quote:

Originally Posted by airdoc (Post 2202792)
If a user creates a custom kneeboard, would this be unavailable if he were to fly a mission in multiplayer?? (replaced by the mission designer's one?).

All custom kneeboards will be visible in both singleplayer and multiplayer. Kneeboards added to a mission by the mission designer will not affect the user's custom kneeboards.


Hopefully I answered your questions without adding more confusion.

airdoc 10-12-2014 10:22 AM

that cleared it up

thanks

EDIT : it may be a good idea if you included the info about kneeboard types in the first post of this thread. Users may find it easier to understand what they are doing with your application.

Vespa 10-12-2014 10:22 AM

Thanks for your detailed info AlaskanGrizzly, really useful to understand Kneeboard world.
Let me say thanks for your great tool...I love it and it's really useful toa void headaches trying to customize Kneeboard

Flagrum 10-12-2014 12:13 PM

The program tries to open a connection to the internet at startup. Why is it doing that?

Reksi-Erkki 10-12-2014 12:35 PM

Automatic update, perhaps?

I really like this software, by the way. The vanilla kneeboard is unusable. I have a dual monitor setup with the MFDs glued onto the secondary one. Now if someone would come up with a similar solution for the F10 map...

AlaskanGrizzly 10-12-2014 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Flagrum (Post 2203270)
The program tries to open a connection to the internet at startup. Why is it doing that?

It is checking if an update is available.

Flagrum 10-12-2014 12:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlaskanGrizzly (Post 2203287)
It is checking if an update is available.

Ok, thanks for the quick response!

Maybe you can make that an optional setting in the preferences? Because I - and I bet I am not alone with this - generally feel uncomfortable if software tries to communicate with some "random" server on the net without my consent.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.