ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   DLC Maps (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=498)
-   -   Is it technically possible to make base textures better? (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=248861)

Gierasimov 09-02-2019 09:03 AM

Is it technically possible to make base textures better?
 
Looking at this example, is it technically possible to use once tile of detailed texture instead of this unaligned mix of random texture patches to represent urban areas?

I am not talking about improving current maps, I am thinking of the future projects, many times it was mentioned that the size would be an issue, but I don't regard this as a valid reason as this can be scaled via options as we do with other aspects of rendering and also hardware is available.

It does even look not so great from the altitude so the benefit to those flying up in the air as well as mud movers and rotor heads could be significant.

https://cqps1q.bn.files.1drv.com/y4m...&cropmode=none

GazAce 09-02-2019 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gierasimov (Post 4025595)
Looking at this example, is it technically possible to use once tile of detailed texture instead of this unaligned mix of random texture patches to represent urban areas?

I am not talking about improving current maps, I am thinking of the future projects, many times it was mentioned that the size would be an issue, but I don't regard this as a valid reason as this can be scaled via options as we do with other aspects of rendering and also hardware is available.

It does even look not so great from the altitude so the benefit to those flying up in the air as well as mud movers and rotor heads could be significant.


https://cqps1q.bn.files.1drv.com/y4m...&cropmode=none

Well, there goes the neighborhood.. yikes literally! lol

Ala13_ManOWar 09-02-2019 03:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gierasimov (Post 4025595)
Looking at this example, is it technically possible to use once tile of detailed texture instead of this unaligned mix of random texture patches to represent urban areas?

:huh: That looks more like some tilling error or textures bug. I think you'll be better saying coordinates of the place and posting a bug report.


S!

Gierasimov 09-02-2019 08:05 PM

Not really, its pretty much most of the places. It's not a bug, it's the feature...

KTFBGB 09-04-2019 04:24 AM

There is something wrong there on your side. I have never seen any thing like that on any map.

Fri13 09-04-2019 05:47 AM

That is the base texture, before any blending etc.

But IMHO the DCS terrain is still a very rough and empty. And what it's requiring is simply random generated ground clutter, a far more scattered forests, trees etc.
As when today Caucasus is like billiard table with few big forests here and there.

And what I mean by random generated ground clutter and terrain, is that mapper use a brush that randomly place trees, rocks, bushes etc on area that is painted. No individual placing than in cities and towns.

And then simply more advanced terrain engine with graphics engine that will change the visual objects amount and level based the camera speed and altitude. So if you fly high, all your visuals are blended more. A high magnification optics will render only that proportion at high objects count.

Replay etc where time is slowed or paused to take screenshots would render all at max detail.

This would mean that low flying helicopter at slow speed gets all maximum, while medium level high speed jet does get rougher blending.

Gierasimov 09-04-2019 10:04 AM

Examples include detailed map boundaries as well.
 
Correct, it is from ME but still in the game is not much better. Initially, I thought it was due to the detailed area boundaries but no. Even Bandar Abbas and Khasab look like unfinished - some examples:

https://ckps1q.bn.files.1drv.com/y4m...&cropmode=none

Bandar Abbas

https://caps1q.bn.files.1drv.com/y4m...&cropmode=none

Khasab

https://c6ps1q.bn.files.1drv.com/y4m...&cropmode=none

Just examples of how textures do not blend.

As I said, I am not treating this as a bug. It is what it is, but I wish future maps could be closer to what we see in Caucasus map where the base texture layer blends with detailed textures in a nicer way.

Looking at Syria map work in progress screenshots makes me think they don't have this problem, or at least that's how it looks.

schurem 09-06-2019 05:18 PM

Pfff yeah is not perfect. What is? There are worse things.

Gierasimov 09-06-2019 06:11 PM

Correct
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by schurem (Post 4029607)
Pfff yeah is not perfect. What is? There are worse things.

They are, absolutely. This thread, however, is not about "worse things", it is specifically about DCS maps and texture alignment quality.

I can say, even more, the aim was to get technical remarks from a member of the ED team and not necesairy from the community.

Thanks for stopping by though.

razo+r 09-06-2019 06:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gierasimov (Post 4029665)

I can say, even more, the aim was to get technical remarks from a member of the ED team

the possibility for this to happen is extremely small


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.