ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   Missions and Campaigns (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=165)
-   -   Operation Snowfox - Persian Gulf PvE Playground (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=247216)

chrisofsweden 09-17-2019 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NightstalkerNOR (Post 4034619)
Surrexen; Would it at all be possible to make a "saved game" file at the end of a mission?

I'm spending a lot of time taking out SAMs at the start of the mission, and not really being able to participate in for instance CAS missions because the regular SEAD spawn aircraft take to long to take out the SAMsites, so I have to help out every time.

A "saved game" file would really help with being able to use different assets available. :)

Again, I really love your work! Two excellent missions

Quote:

Originally Posted by Surrexen (Post 4034665)
I have no idea how to do that yet haha. I know in theory it can be done though. Currently I'm finalising plans on paper for Syria ... for whenever the map comes out! It's a good question though because I think that would be very useful.

Today I actually flew a CAS mission on Snowfox to learn the A-10C (I don't normally fly CAS). I took out the SA-15 at Tunb Island on route to Bandar Lengeh and had SEAD support take care of the SA-11, whilst a fighter screen kept me in the clear. Managed to wipe out the targets and complete a mission. Didn't think I had it in me!

Anyway I will add the request to the list for later and will investigate. Can't promise anything at this stage.

Quote:

Originally Posted by NightstalkerNOR (Post 4034724)
Very good. Thanks for taking it into consideration. :) "Annoying" when I've spent an hour or so taking out several SAM sites, and then I have to go AFK...starting over again. (not a problem related to your mission - offcourse.)

Surrexen I've got a finished framework for saving that you could implement. It's very simple and it will work as long as this mission is not dynamically spawning the red ground groups, but a complete mission with all red ground units in from the start... I've not looked at this mission that detailed yet so I don't know.

Surrexen 09-17-2019 12:25 PM

Ground units in my missions are not dynamically spawned so I would be interested in taking a look at how you are doing it. My code for this particular function is not pretty haha.

NightstalkerNOR 09-17-2019 02:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Surrexen (Post 4038028)
Ok so here is the deal. Persistence is very possible, but it would require people to de-sanitize 'lfs' and 'io' which is part of MissionScripting.lua in their installations. This allows for the exporting of data from the mission into a file that can then be loaded at mission start. I imagine some people may already do this to get things like TacView to load? Anyway ... it is very possible to add it in. I figure if people are comfortable with this then I can implement it for a future version.

The downside to this is that if you want to start the mission again 'from scratch' you would need to delete the exported data before starting up the mission.

How do people feel about this? Feedback is definitely required for this one.

I love the idea. As long as it's with some sort of clear instructions I think it will be excellent :)

chrisofsweden 09-17-2019 02:16 PM

Yes. I will require de-sanitize the lfs and io. Everyone who has used any of the Dynamic Campaign Engine campaigns (MBot and succeeding mods by users) has had to do this.

Surrexen 09-19-2019 02:19 PM

Small progress update here, I've written a totally different method for unit persistence which works for both ground units and ships. Hooray! It is much more efficient. I will tomorrow see if I can adapt it for static objects.

The other neat thing now is that if you get to the 'end', it will automatically scrub the progress so nobody will need to manually remove anything, just relaunch and it will start over completely from scratch.

oho 09-20-2019 11:19 AM

I shortly started a mission with A10C and F18 but I didn't get any waypoints. Do have to add them in the mission editor or in flight (the latter would be a bit too much for me ;-)) or is it a bug?

Surrexen 09-20-2019 12:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oho (Post 4041905)
I shortly started a mission with A10C and F18 but I didn't get any waypoints. Do have to add them in the mission editor or in flight (the latter would be a bit too much for me ;-)) or is it a bug?

Didn't get any flight plan waypoints? Or didn't get any target information coordinates?

Waypoints you need to plan yourself. But target coordinates should be available to make it easy to punch a waypoint in.

There are some really massive changes coming to this mission very shortly.

oho 09-20-2019 12:36 PM

Great mission anyway. Do these changes generate target waypoints too ?
Because I fly in VR it is not so easy to write down and enter waypoints. Can I do it in the mission editor before starting the mission in 3D somehow, for the client I want to fly or are the coordinates generated while I'm in the cockpit on the runway?

Ziptie 09-20-2019 05:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Surrexen (Post 4041935)
Didn't get any flight plan waypoints? Or didn't get any target information coordinates?

Waypoints you need to plan yourself. But target coordinates should be available to make it easy to punch a waypoint in.

There are some really massive changes coming to this mission very shortly.

Awesome! :thumbup:

Cheers,

Don

Surrexen 09-21-2019 12:29 AM

Ok so I'm still just testing this out but the update should go out soon. Here are some of the things that have been done:

- Persistent world for ground units, ships and static objects, this will require de-sanitization of 'lfs' and 'io' in MissionScripting.lua. On servers please ensure that the simulation is being run with sufficient privileges to write to the DCS World installation folder.
- Oil Platform's near Sirri Island have been removed as missions as they were breaking the mission scripting. Since there were 3 platforms, 3 substitute missions related to oil related things have been introduced.
- Train at Havadarya has also been substituted with some AAA for the same reason as above
- Recovery tanker for carrier group has been introduced, and rescue helo because why not. Big thanks to FunkyFranky for the script and the guys at =JAGTF= for pointing me at it! The recovery tanker frequencies and tacan have been added into the mission briefing
- F/A-18's and F-14B's on the Stennis no longer have a pair that start with air to ground load-outs. The CAP groups for each have been increased to a group of 4. This is part of a re-organisation of tail numbers and callsign adjustments which I will explain in more detail when it is finalised.
- A-10C group increased to 4 planes
- AV/8B group increased to 4 planes
- Lavan Island HAWK system has been re-introduced to the map, along with it's supplying trucks. No missions specifically to Lavan Island (yet).
- A bug with the target report on server environments where the report would spit out twice for each player under certain conditions has been fixed

I have also had several requests to expand this a little, and from I've seen on servers there is a bit of room to add some more missions in so I'll see what I can come up with.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.