ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   Input and Output (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=96)
-   -   SoftTH NEWS (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=71710)

PeterP 04-09-2011 10:49 AM

SoftTH NEWS
 
1 Attachment(s)
(I will update this thread on a regular basis - so you may want to subscribe to it...)
DCS related fixes for proper use with SoftTH 2.08b:

Fix: for bugged mission editor/Abris in DCS with SoftTH 2.08b:

Enable "quirk-mode" in the config.SoftTHconfig:
Quote:

[debug]
compatibleIB=0
compatibleTex=0
compatibleVB=0
enableVBQuirk=1<<<
this last line(enableVBQuirk=1) is missing when you use the configuration tool - so add it manually by using a editor!

And avoid using ZClear - as this will produce some shader bugs . Means :
Set "zClear = 0"! >>>Strange water texture overlaping bug... or something

And if you are using Helios (http://www.scsimulations.com/):
You have to use
"keepComposition=1" in the config.SoftTHconfig to switch Aero on while SoftTH works.
This will make it possible to have Helios rendered over DCS on secondary screens!



You still don't know what SoftTH is? :

SoftTH is donation-ware and let you do what the big GPU company's don't allow you to do or only at high costs.
SoftTh let you render every monitor combination at High FPS in full-screen mode. You can even Mix SoftTH with AMD-Eyefinity and/or TH2GO,NVIDIA-Surround !
Especially interesting for DCS. -SoftTH let you use full-screen Mode If you export MDFS/Abris ect. on additional screens . You are not forced to use Windowed mode any more.
Even Helios is working with DCS in Fullscreen on all secondary heads.
And Yes , it will gain your FPS!



Some interesting examples what you can do/how it can look:

http://junk.kegetys.net/softth_fourmonitors.jpg

Mixing Eyfinity with SoftTH:
( Congo_Toey )


Just crazy... :


Mixing Portrait with Landscape:



SoftTH main page:
http://www.kegetys.net/SoftTH/
Note: Even if you are running a 64bit OS, most games require the 32bit x86 version since the games themselves are 32bit executables.

SoftTH forum:
http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.php?board=1.0


readme_SoftTH2.txt:
Read it before asking for help !!
Download


Some educational threads about SoftTH :

In this thread I show some interesting insights of SoftTH on a theoretical set-up:
SoftTH 2.xx explained at a example configuration

Here are some "talk on's" I made that will give you a better understanding how SoftTH can be utilised for "only" two monitors and how to troubleshoot if you are stuck... :
Black Shark Twin monitor

A simple step-by-step instruction how to set SoftTH up with a triple-head configuration:
http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.ph...61#post1135561

A advanced setup optimization using the "destRect" function :
http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.ph...09#post1348809

And if you like SoftTh you should donate something to Kegetys !

+++++++++++++
News: 01-03-2013
+++++++++++++


Quote:

Originally Posted by BHawthorne (Post 1642140)
I've been in contact with one of the Co-Directors and the lead programmer for Immersaview. They've reviewed the SoftTH codebase. They said they're receptive to doing a new utility with better functionality and GUI but it would be scratch coded and not from the SoftTH codebase.

Those of you interested in a new utility it would be useful to post a feature wishlist here and I can forward it to the powers that be at Immersaview.


+++++++++++++
News: 12-14-2012
+++++++++++++


Thank you Kegetys !
SoftTH source code release




+++++++++++++++++++
News: 02-17-2012, 03:26 PM
+++++++++++++++++++

>>> SoftTh 2.x configuration tool


http://i1132.photobucket.com/albums/...configtool.jpg
http://forums.eagle.ru/images/smilies/smile.gif

+++++++++++++++++++
News: 12-30-2011, 01:25 PM
+++++++++++++++++++

v2.08 is released:

It is optimized especially for DCS now. - you will probably have a little better FPS - but more important: a better compatibility and more stable system:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kegetys (Post 1360889)
This is hopefully fixed with SoftTH v2.08 available here.

Along with the crash fix, it can also improve performance a bit and make the fps smoother overall (I re-wrote the indexbuffer manage-emulation code and added proper emulation for vertexbuffers as well - it now should behave similar to a "non-SoftTH" device). Illustrated here:

http://junk.kegetys.net/softth_fps.jpg
(v2.07 above, v2.08 below. But your mileage may vary http://forums.eagle.ru/images/smilies/wink.gif)

+++++++++++++++++++
News: 10-12-2011, 11:36 AM
+++++++++++++++++++

Some crazy guy with obviously too much time on his hand wants to try to write a SoftTH-Manual for the average-Joe....

Please help him out!http://forums.eagle.ru/images/smilies/smile.gif

>>> http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.php?topic=2861.0

+++++++++++++++++++
News: 10-07-2011, 11:17 AM
+++++++++++++++++++


There is a undocumented function in softth version v2.01 and up:
Quote:

kegetys
Administrator

Posts: 244


http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Themes/...es/post/xx.gif Re: * SoftTH v2.01 pre-alpha test version *
« Reply #100 on: July 17, 2010, 11:32:05 AM »
In v2.01 there is an undocumented feature for setting a "destination rectangle" for the outputs. With it you can set the output to cover only a part of the screen area. It should allow, for example, properly aligning different height displays so nothing is outside the visible area and black borders are added instead.

Example result with it:
Render resolution is 4800x1200 here (3x1600x1200) despite the widescreen monitors used, the area to the left and right is left blank:
http://junk.kegetys.net/IMG_1549.jpg

Config used: http://junk.kegetys.net/softth2_dest...fig_sample.txt
Note the "destRect" properties that limit the output area to 1440x1200 pixels on the 1920x1200 side monitors.
This "destRect" function lets you define what portion of your monitor is used and how much of the rendered image will be shown in this part of the screen. -and you are able to move this part freely around! with other words: It let create you a "window" inside your screen!

I edited a little goofy example to show you better what you can do with this function:

http://i1132.photobucket.com/albums/...destRect-1.jpg

So let's assume you have different sized monitors/no monitor matches the other in size and native resolution.... and you are mixing portrait with landscape...
But the "destRect" function let you render in fullscreen-mode and align everything inclusive bezel-management and in right aspect on all your monitors !

et
y+++++++++++++++++++
News: 06-11-2011, 10:08 PM
+++++++++++++++++++


2.06 Version is out.

Most recent changes for DCS is to limit the FPS for secondary heads - Very helpful to reduce the overhead-rendering for usb-bus and help to get better Framrate if you utilise a USB monitor for MFCDs:
http://www.kegets.net/forum/index.php?topic=2123.msg11898#msg11898
Quote:

Quick update (v2.06) is available with:
- fpsLimit setting for non-primary heads
- Managed volume texture fixes (Rise of Flight)
- Fixed memory leak with GSwapChain
- Fixed memory leak with GetSurfaceLevel
- SoftTH no longer incorrectly activates on windowed mode device

Main "feature" is the memory leak fixes, it should hopefully fix random crash problems after a longer time of playing some games.

In addition, there is a new "fpsLimit" setting for non-primary heads. This can be useful when using USB screens for instruments (in DCS series for example), you can limit the update rate for the USB displays which can improve the overall FPS a bit.
http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.p...4&topic=2123.0
Quote:

Download v2.06 from:
http://www.kegetys.net/dl.php/SoftTH206alpha.zip (latest version, for 32bit x86 programs)
http://www.kegetys.net/dl.php/SoftTH206alpha_x64.zip (latest version, for 64bit x64 programs)

Note: Even if you are running a 64bit OS, most games require the 32bit x86 version since the games themselves are 32bit executables.
+++++++++++++++++++
News: 06-11-2011, 10:08 PM
+++++++++++++++++++

New version of the configuration tool from Olstyle.
Now you can use a advanced offset/bezel management.
Off-line version is also available:

http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.php?topic=2631.0
Spoiler:
Quote:

Olstyle

User

Posts: 59


http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Themes/...es/post/xx.gif Re: SoftTh 2.x configuration tool
« Reply #26 on: June 01, 2011, 05:03:59 PM »
Quote from: WacKEDmaN on June 01, 2011, 10:03:20 AM
i think theres a couple of things missing..a renderResolution box sitting behind the monitor boxes.. this will let us visualise how much picture can be seen from the full render and how much rendered area is being unseen...
(...)

Here you go:
http://www.mechatronics4you.com/wp-c...ftTHConfig.zip
Still HTML but all offline.


+++++++++++++++++++
News: 04-09-2011, 12:49 PM
+++++++++++++++++++


SoftTH v2.05 alpha:

http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.p...10775#msg10775
[QUOTE]kegetys
Administrator

Posts: 227


http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Themes/...es/post/xx.gif Re: * SoftTH v2.05 alpha test version *
« Reply #347 on: April 07, 2011, 12:45:02 AM »
v2.05 is available:
- Improved local head performance for AMD cards
- Fixed RGB16D nonlocal mode on AMD cards
- Slightly improved nonlocal performance for Nvidia
cards (Restored to v2.02 level)
- Reduced CPU use when waiting for gpu synchronization
- Framerate smoothing is always disabled if all heads
are local
- Fixed potential crash with hooks

This version should improve the performance noticeably for Radeon users. Nvidia users might see some small improvement in some cases as well.

Download links in the first post.

BHawthorne 04-09-2011 01:00 PM

About time SoftTH got a GUI. It's only been what 4 years waiting for one? :P

I know people can do better than that java one. Come on people...

PeterP 06-11-2011 08:08 PM

New version of the configuration tool from Olstyle.
Now you can use a advanced offset/bezel management.
Off-line version is also available:

http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.php?topic=2631.0
Quote:

Olstyle

User

Posts: 59


http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Themes/...es/post/xx.gif Re: SoftTh 2.x configuration tool
« Reply #26 on: June 01, 2011, 05:03:59 PM »
Quote from: WacKEDmaN on June 01, 2011, 10:03:20 AM
i think theres a couple of things missing..a renderResolution box sitting behind the monitor boxes.. this will let us visualise how much picture can be seen from the full render and how much rendered area is being unseen...
That would be no work at all, I just don't see the use of painting the smallest possible Box containing all used screens since that is what the tool is made to always choose.
Quote
and secondly, manual sourceRect coord placement needs to be input-able and visuallised, so we can set actual placement away from the windows setup..eg..on my desktop i use the monitors lined up on the bottom..so the bottom is basically a straight line with no "steps" but in games id like to line the screens up via the top

eg desktop..
__ ----- __
|__||___||__|

ingame..

----------------
|__|| ||__|
-----

i think with a few tweaks to this tool you could have other configs that are away from the windows config, without having to change resolutions first
I don't really see any harm in changing your windows-settings first, but i will see if I can add direct setting of the source rect anyway without screwing the original concept.
Quote
Id also like to see a standalone/offline version of the tool that i can just run from the jar or even a little exe

Here you go:
http://www.mechatronics4you.com/wp-c...ftTHConfig.zip
Still HTML but all offline.

Froglips 06-12-2011 11:40 AM

Great work PeterP. Still trying to get my setup to cooperate:)

PeterP 09-10-2011 12:34 AM

2.06 Version is out.

Most recent changes for DCS is to limit the FPS for secondary heads - Very helpful to reduce the overhead-rendering for usb-bus and help to get better Framrate if you utilise a USB monitor for MFCDs:
http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.p...11898#msg11898
Quote:

Quick update (v2.06) is available with:
- fpsLimit setting for non-primary heads
- Managed volume texture fixes (Rise of Flight)
- Fixed memory leak with GetSwapChain
- Fixed memory leak with GetSurfaceLevel
- SoftTH no longer incorrectly activates on windowed mode device

Main "feature" is the memory leak fixes, it should hopefully fix random crash problems after a longer time of playing some games.

In addition, there is a new "fpsLimit" setting for non-primary heads. This can be useful when using USB screens for instruments (in DCS series for example), you can limit the update rate for the USB displays which can improve the overall FPS a bit.
http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.p...4&topic=2123.0
Quote:

Download v2.06 from:
http://www.kegetys.net/dl.php/SoftTH206alpha.zip (latest version, for 32bit x86 programs)
http://www.kegetys.net/dl.php/SoftTH206alpha_x64.zip (latest version, for 64bit x64 programs)

Note: Even if you are running a 64bit OS, most games require the 32bit x86 version since the games themselves are 32bit executables.

JAG 09-12-2011 05:58 PM

Thanks for posting PeterP, this looks amazing, I'm sure this time I'll give it a try.

Saludos

PeterP 10-07-2011 09:17 AM

There is a unducumented function in softth version v2.01 and up:
Quote:

kegetys
Administrator

Posts: 244


http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Themes/...es/post/xx.gif Re: * SoftTH v2.01 pre-alpha test version *
« Reply #100 on: July 17, 2010, 11:32:05 AM »
In v2.01 there is an undocumented feature for setting a "destination rectangle" for the outputs. With it you can set the output to cover only a part of the screen area. It should allow, for example, properly aligning different height displays so nothing is outside the visible area and black borders are added instead.

Example result with it:
Render resolution is 4800x1200 here (3x1600x1200) despite the widescreen monitors used, the area to the left and right is left blank:
http://junk.kegetys.net/IMG_1549.jpg

Config used: http://junk.kegetys.net/softth2_dest...fig_sample.txt
Note the "destRect" properties that limit the output area to 1440x1200 pixels on the 1920x1200 side monitors.
This "destRect" function lets you define what portion of your monitor is used and how much of the rendered image will be shown in this part of the screen. -and you are able to move this part freely around! with other words: It let create you a "window" inside your screen!

I edited a little goofy example to show you better what you can do with this function:

http://i1132.photobucket.com/albums/...destRect-1.jpg

So let's assume you have different sized monitors/no monitor matches the other in size and native resolution.... and you are mixing portrait with landscape...
But the "destRect" function let you render in fullscreen-mode and align everything inclusive bezel-management and in right aspect on all your monitors !

:D BTW:

Amd would charter probably a whole Carrier to tell the world news like this....
Spoiler:


...Kegetys just drops some lines among others in his forum...:P

Jaximus Decimus 10-12-2011 07:24 AM

Ok, Peter, I've been trying to figure this out for the last two hours, and it's just not happening, buddy.

I clicked the link for the newest 32 bit x86 version, which downloaded a folder onto my computer. Inside this folder is a file named "d3d9.dll"

I placed this file in my DCSBlackshark/bin folder.

It's my understanding from the readme that when I launch Black Shark I'm supposed to get some sort of message about configuring my setup. I get no message at all. When I try to actually launch a mission the game sends me straight to the debriefing screen after taking me to my desktop for a few seconds.

I have two 1920X1080 monitors running in extended desktop, Windows 7. All I want is to have my camera view on monitor one and my Shykval on monitor two.

I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. I've been reading through all these posts and I see all these .lua files and everything, but I don't even know where to put those files, let alone how to start tweaking them myself.

Any assistance you could render would be greatly appreciated.

Edited to add: Running Black Shark 1.0.2/Full Screen. Game runs normally if I delete d3d9.dll from the bin. No Softh files are generated anywhere on my PC.

PeterP 10-12-2011 07:47 AM

Hello Jaximus Decimus!

I'm right now at work but I think I could dedicate some time to your problem (like I did already often for others when I'm working :D:P.).

Yes- some reported this before that SoftTH didn't created a config file... - don't worry we will solve this!
First I want to redirect you to this thread for the further "talk-on"- and help me to de-clutter this thread.
Black Shark Twin monitor

for your first posting in this thread you should follow this steps of posting #2 inside this thread.

After you made your posting - then I'm ready to go!:)

PeterP 10-12-2011 09:36 AM

Some crazy guy with obviously too much time on his hand wants to try to write a SoftTH-Manual for the average-Joe....

Please help him out!:)
http://www.kegetys.net/forum/index.php?topic=2861.0
Quote:

Peterp
User

Posts: 6


http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Themes/...es/post/xx.gif Upcoming SoftTH-Manual - I need your help/annotations/ideas....
« on: Today at 11:20:33 AM » http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Themes/...lish/quote.gif http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Themes/...ish/modify.gif Upcoming SoftTH-Manual - I need your help/annotations/ideas....

Hello

I'm right now planning to write a detailed SoftTH-Manual to address the problems many people have to set it up property when using the first time and also help other users to unleash the full potential of this software.

I already communicated with Kegetys - and he likes this initiative and that he will comment/cross-check the progress (as his time allows this).

Here is a example how it could look like: http://il2fovchanger.byethost7.com/v...%20english.pdf

And I want to let you know that I was the "Ghost-writer" for the IL2-FOV-Canger instruction including al graphical layout.
San only made some annotations within the progress.


Up to now I didn't wrote a single line - I just want your feed back if you would welcome this idea and if you would support me in the progress.

.... here is a thread I started in the DCS-Forums that will give you a brief overview about my knowledge/experience with SoftTH http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=71710.

It's planned to do this manual in HTML so it will be reader friendly and it allows to be updated in a uncomplicated way.

I also plan to add a appendix that will explain many technical terms - so the "average -Joe" will have no problems in understanding complex correlations.

I will update this thread when I have made some progress. And post the WIP-SoftTH-Manual.

The last years I was mainly concentrated on simulation software (to be honest : I only used SoftTH once with a non-simulation software - this was Portal)
So I will need your help to cover the special requirements to set-up SoftTH on other programs like Steam-Apps for instance.

So please feel free to add annotations/ideas or links to subjects you want to see covered in this manual.

But be aware that this is no wish-list-thread for features you want to see in upcoming SoftTH versions!

I will ask the Mods to delete this kind of postings - so better you don't even try... http://www.kegetys.net/forum/Smileys/default/wink.gif.

So please stay on topic and make it easy for me to catch your thoughts/ideas !

Thanks for reading.


@Moderators - can you make this thread Sticky?


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.