ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   DCS: F-16C Viper (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=638)
-   -   HUD & TGP Cursors out of sync workaround? (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=256144)

pimp 11-27-2019 09:07 PM

HUD & TGP Cursors out of sync workaround?
 
Hi All,

I know this has already been reported but the thread had been closed. Using the cursor in the HUD does not line up the same as the view in the TGP. Currently I have to cheat with labels and external views to find the targets using the TGP. Starting the mission with the jet hot did not work for me. So I'm asking is there a workaround for this issue until it's resolved?

Thanks!

pimp 11-30-2019 10:27 PM

Some video mentioned that you should input your position coordinates when you start your INS alignment. However, I've noticed that if you do not input the coordinates during alignment, the HUD & TGP cursors are not out of sync as much. They're still are not pointing at the same position as each other but it's not as bad. So I would not recommend inputting those coordinates during INS alignment.

Kappa 12-01-2019 11:06 AM

This was exactly what I was asking to my self... There is a workaround??

AFAIK misalignment increases with the flight time.

So if you'll make some tests keep in mind that you will get different resoults if you don't keep this in your mind.

With a 100nm navigation the misalignment is very evident, it makes impossible even the use of LGB's since the HUD gives you incorrect drop parameters that will make you drop a bomb far away from the target and it will not be able to spot the TGP laser because of the distannce or maybe the bomb has a completely wrong angle...

Unfortunally this bug makes the F-16 almost useless in A-G for now... Hope they'll fix it soon. :smilewink:

ebabil 12-01-2019 11:16 AM

yeah i noticed this too. my hud target indicator showed a runway whereas my tgp points a lake

Oceandar 12-02-2019 02:16 AM

You need to do complete INS alignment to avoid this problem. Just do stored heading aligment for quick alignment (only 90 sec) and wait til align text flashing on the HUD and RDY on DED is also flashing.
Other than that I've no idea what might cause the problem. Never had this problem anymore.

Good luck

pimp 12-02-2019 04:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oceandar (Post 4123846)
You need to do complete INS alignment to avoid this problem. Just do stored heading aligment for quick alignment (only 90 sec) and wait til align text flashing on the HUD and RDY on DED is also flashing.
Other than that I've no idea what might cause the problem. Never had this problem anymore.

Good luck

Thanks, but obviously we're doing a complete alignment. Which is why there's already a bug report for this issue. Also, stored heading alignment is not part of the Viper module.

Frederf 12-02-2019 06:57 PM

I discovered this issue yesterday and I think I can see the problem. In real F-16 the steerpoint does get moved by moving the SPI around but it does so in layers. The SPI shift is accomplished by a layer called system deltas (delta being the common Greek letter used in engineering for change or difference). The steerpoint position is the sum of all the layers added.

What should happen is that moving the TGP around should generate some non-zero system deltas. The waypoint is the destination (original coordinates) plus the deltas. Setting the steerpoint back to the destination involves zeroing these deltas. The MFD formats should have a "CZ" action which highlights when the deltas aren't zero. After cursor zero action the waypoint would return to it's original position before cursor slewing. That system delta/CZ layer is currently missing in DCS so your slewing is practically irreversible.

Oceandar 12-03-2019 12:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pimp (Post 4123884)
......Also, stored heading alignment is not part of the Viper module.

Stored heading alignment is there for the Viper. If you mean in Mission Editor like in the Tomcat I honestly no idea. I have not played around with it for the Viper.

pimp 12-03-2019 06:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Oceandar (Post 4124900)
Stored heading alignment is there for the Viper. If you mean in Mission Editor like in the Tomcat I honestly no idea. I have not played around with it for the Viper.

Care to share where this is located for the Viper?

rrohde 12-03-2019 06:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frederf (Post 4124559)
That system delta/CZ layer is currently missing in DCS so your slewing is practically irreversible.

This is what I run to a lot when accidentally moving my TGP away from a steer point; the newly crated location is often times far away from the initial steer point intended for my CCRP bomb-run, and I end up getting lost and unable to locate my target again. I had hoped there was a way to reset this, but I guess we'll have to wait until this is addressed in DCS.

Thanks for the detailed info as well - very useful.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.