ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   Multiplayer (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Havoc Company Dedicated Server (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=193993)

Alec Delorean 03-29-2020 10:45 AM

@HC_Official

I just checked real weather info and might have found the problem. On the server it mixes up meter per second with kilometers per hour. This way we always get stuff like 6 meters per second instead of 6 kmh (example sochi: just now). Explains why the wind is always at those high levels.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beaufort_scale

Catweedle 03-29-2020 01:36 PM

Hm, Alec might be right. Sochi had ~7 km/h around 1400, and the server shows 7 m/s after its lunch break -- even if the average wind speed of the AO is calculated the assumption seems to hold. The PG server, however, appears to be working correctly wrt. that -- e.g. north-central UAE had ~11 m/s at 1400.

Something else: auto-kick stopped working.

Thanks, and stay healthy!

Catweedle 04-20-2020 10:27 AM

I would like to thank HC_Official -- and I think I speak on behalf of most HC regulars -- for always keeping the Havoc Company servers and missions updated and running, especially in extraordinary (DCS) times like these. :thumbup:

https://i.imgur.com/oCTzlY4.gif

Alec Delorean 05-22-2020 11:53 AM

The wind bug is back again, Senaki weather station says 14 Km/H which is around 4 m/s. Server is set to storm conditions at 14 m/s, thats 50 Km/H!!!

HC_Official 05-22-2020 06:16 PM

there is storm level winds where the weather data is being read from == storm on the server
eg
"gust_mph": 45

Alec Delorean 05-23-2020 08:08 AM

There is a significant difference between gusts and wind speed. DCS doesn't simulate temporary random changes of wind speed aka "gusts" yet. Wind in DCS is just a static value from a static direction. With adding gust speed to real "normal" wind speed you always end up with unrealistic storm conditions. There is a reason why weather stations publish 2 separate values for wind speed and occasional gusts. Makes the use of the METAR system senseless on your server. I don't get it, it is such a neat feature, but used in a wrong way.

HC_Official 05-23-2020 10:32 AM

wind speed is read direct from the json data and set on the server... as wind speed

gusts control the turbulence factor (scaled down) which is alse added to the mission

Alec Delorean 05-23-2020 02:09 PM

Maybe i was wrong on gusts support in DCS, but i've never seen it working on your server. Look at chimney smoke or smoke pods or burning engines, the particle system is always a straight long line at 90 degrees from the emitter, showing a constant wind direction at constant extreme speed.

HC_Official 05-23-2020 03:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by HC_Official (Post 4346449)
wind speed is read direct from the json data and set on the server... as wind speed

gusts control the turbulence factor (scaled down) which is alse added to the mission


you would need to ask ED how turbulence works

HC_Official 06-11-2020 07:07 AM

Server has been reverted back to previous "less" broken build


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.