ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   Missions and Campaigns (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=165)
-   -   Operation Snowfox - Persian Gulf PvE Playground (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=247216)

Surrexen 02-12-2020 10:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oho (Post 4205990)
Thanks, I see.
Thanks SuperWabbit, I managed to take out most Long range SAM-Sites.
Tipp:
I set waypoints (height 0 MSL will atomatically render 0 AGL) in the Mission-Editor directly on the SAM Radar and attacked with JDAM.
Also as single Player I add 2 wingmen loaded with A-A Missiles in the Mission Editor and order them to attack bandits. This works fine.
Now I will go for the designated Target, wish me luckhttps://forums.eagle.ru/images/smilies/pilotfly.gif

You shouldn't need to add the waypoints in the editor. If you go into the radio menu and ask for the target report you will get the target coordinates and altitude in 3 formats so you can plug whatever you need into the jet.

oho 02-12-2020 12:00 PM

I know, but it's easier to look at the map, select SA... in the list below and then add the waypoints to my flight, because in VR it's a Little complicated to enter the waypoints and I wanted to eliminate SAMs beforehand.
The coordinates text faints before I can enter all Precise coordinates. Can you leave the text a litte longer perhaps?
One question:
You only show 3 Digits behind the last decimal-point although I can enter 4 in the hornets.
When I Designate a waypoint from the Mission-Editor I get 4 diggits.
I'm afraid that 3 Digits may be unprecise?

Surrexen 02-12-2020 08:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oho (Post 4206138)
I know, but it's easier to look at the map, select SA... in the list below and then add the waypoints to my flight, because in VR it's a Little complicated to enter the waypoints and I wanted to eliminate SAMs beforehand.
The coordinates text faints before I can enter all Precise coordinates. Can you leave the text a litte longer perhaps?
One question:
You only show 3 Digits behind the last decimal-point although I can enter 4 in the hornets.
When I Designate a waypoint from the Mission-Editor I get 4 diggits.
I'm afraid that 3 Digits may be unprecise?

No the target report shows 3 different formats:

1. DMS (Degrees Minutes Seconds)
2. DDM (Degrees Decimal Minutes)
3. DMSDS (Degrees Minutes Seconds Decimal Seconds)

If you are programming in JDAM's / JSOWS etc you would follow the coordinates of the DMSDS format.

oho 02-14-2020 06:50 AM

ok, will have to learn that, thanks.

Surrexen 02-16-2020 11:27 AM

Please be aware that the 2.5.6 update has broken a lot of things with my missions. I suspect at this stage I will be waiting for ED to patch things before I can even attempt to try to solve what is going on.

Super Wabbit 02-16-2020 06:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Surrexen (Post 4212484)
Please be aware that the 2.5.6 update has broken a lot of things with my missions. I suspect at this stage I will be waiting for ED to patch things before I can even attempt to try to solve what is going on.


I'm on Steam so I haven't gotten 2.5.6 yet. What are some of the things that are broken?

Surrexen 02-16-2020 10:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Super Wabbit (Post 4213078)
I'm on Steam so I haven't gotten 2.5.6 yet. What are some of the things that are broken?

Still investigating, but so far:

- Persistence script is falling over at random depending on the statics that you have killed, because some static objects do not spawn correctly when the mission loads
- Persistence script does not give the player messages about how many units etc have been removed as outText does not work currently from a Mission Start type trigger event
- Moose AI A2A Dispatcher does not work for ground starts (planes explode on spawn), only air starts will work
- Moose Settings menu does not appear to be switching off correctly
- Sounds not firing correctly at the start of the mission
- Log files throwing lots of errors that i'm still trying to figure out whats going on
- Users have reported they cannot run the mission for more than about 30 minutes without it crashing (probably due to memory leaks or something along those lines).
- Missiles fired from the Carrier Groups explode or fly into the water as soon as they switch back to ROE Weapons Hold

Now for the one error that I found in my own code along the way

- Pinpoint strikes not working for the Bandar-e-Jask sector. I have fixed this for the next update, but sadly this is going to require starting new campaign progress files, or editing the existing ones for any dead units or statics from the Bandar-e-Jask sector as I had to rename all units and statics in that sector from Bandar-e-Jask sector prefix to just "Jask" as it didn't like the hyphens in the prefix when using string.find function.


The short version is it could be a while waiting on ED updates, and then possibly even Moose updates before I can sort this out.

Super Wabbit 02-16-2020 10:42 PM

Thanks for the info!

mnf1980 02-20-2020 09:50 PM

Thank you Surrexen for the amazing work.

I just notice that the SEAD F-16 is firing there missiles before time and the missiles don't reach its target and dropped in the way, is there any fix for this?

if you allow me, I would like to suggest some more features:
- can you make another version of these great missions with limited resources, for example, a limit airplane for both sides! this will make the operation more realistic.
- Allow the Blue side to occupy new airfields after cleaning the area, like for example clear Abu Musa island and use it to attack nearby Iranian bases.
- make your mission follow a logical order, like, attack SAM first or destroy the enemy air forces then attack ships, tanks, other air defenses, and then infrastructures.... this will let us use A-10 more efficiently after clearing SAM sites.
- Add Wingmen with the player with AA capability.

thanks

Edit:
There are some Red Tu-95 bombing places north of Fujairah and north of Ras Al Khaimah, is there any importance for these missions? even Blue SAM's are not targeting them at all.

Surrexen 02-20-2020 11:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mnf1980 (Post 4219237)
Thank you Surrexen for the amazing work.

I just notice that the SEAD F-16 is firing there missiles before time and the missiles don't reach its target and dropped in the way, is there any fix for this?

if you allow me, I would like to suggest some more features:
- can you make another version of these great missions with limited resources, for example, a limit airplane for both sides! this will make the operation more realistic.
- Allow the Blue side to occupy new airfields after cleaning the area, like for example clear Abu Musa island and use it to attack nearby Iranian bases.
- make your mission follow a logical order, like, attack SAM first or destroy the enemy air forces then attack ships, tanks, other air defenses, and then infrastructures.... this will let us use A-10 more efficiently after clearing SAM sites.
- Add Wingmen with the player with AA capability.

thanks

Edit:
There are some Red Tu-95 bombing places north of Fujairah and north of Ras Al Khaimah, is there any importance for these missions? even Blue SAM's are not targeting them at all.


SEAD flights firing missiles is totally reliant on ED's AI code. I point the planes and tell them to engage in a zone, the rest is out of my control.

The red bombers do not have any special significance at this stage, just to have some bombers hanging around. The carrier groups SM-2's currently have issues due to a change that ED have made. The bombers do not fly inside the range of the Khasab Hawk site, or the Patriot system.

No, I will not be doing separate versions of my missions, as I have spent the last 4 days working on fixes and workarounds for the 2.5.6 update for the 5 different missions I already have. I am already having nightmares of when I have more missions to update in the future (Mariana's / Channel Map / Syria).

Putting missions into a logical order is something I would like to do later down the line, but that would not be a trivial task.

Airfield capture is not going to happen. Wingmen are not going to happen either, I do have a couple of flights available in Operation Jupiter that have wingman, but since the wingman do not respawn when a player respawns in the client slot, it makes it of very limited use.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.