ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   VEAO Simulations (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=207)
-   -   Hawk has stopped to work in DCS World 2.5.3 (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=237748)

Ferenc 04-01-2019 09:19 AM

Hawk has stopped to work in DCS World 2.5.3
 
I was maintaining a version 2.5.3.24984 of DCS World without updating only to play Hawk. No problem until this last friday (after last update of the beta release, though I don't know if it is a relation with my issue). From this day, when I start the program appears a screen warninig about the license of the Hawk, with my license number by default that ask me if I want to vinculate or omit. If I press Vinculate, everything starts Ok, in the module manager the Hawk appears correctly installed and activated. But if I try to fly it (in a quick mission or even in training) I don't have access to the cockpit view nor the control of the plane, just like the module were not activated. I reactivated, then deactivate and activated again, and finally deleting the regedit key and activating newly. I have spent 2 licenses more. But the results have not changed.



Since the first versions of 2.5.4 I have flown the Hawk in 2.5.3 without any incidence. Anything has changed in the sistem of licenses? Curiously, in the module manager, whe I try to see the license number, appears "No key" .



And the other big question is: Anyone stille playing Hawk on any version of DCS World?

Pikey 04-01-2019 02:53 PM

It's making a nice static object and it is also AI in current versions, but not flyable and I wont be trying to roll back versions for it.
Sounds like licensing for sure.

grunf 04-01-2019 02:57 PM

R.I.P.

Rudel_chw 04-01-2019 04:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ferenc (Post 3866702)
Since the first versions of 2.5.4 I have flown the Hawk in 2.5.3 without any incidence. Anything has changed in the sistem of licenses? Curiously, in the module manager, whe I try to see the license number, appears "No key" .


If I were in your case, I would open a support ticket with ED, as the Hawk should be able to run on 2.5.3

Hammer1-1 04-02-2019 11:38 PM

Kinda pointless to open a support ticket with ED considering they dont have the source code regardless of DCS flavor. What are they going to do, fix it?

SkateZilla 04-04-2019 02:12 PM

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...&postcount=176

zhukov032186 04-04-2019 06:39 PM

If you're running the same version that was working previously, then yes, it should still function and you should open a ticket. If you didn't change anything then nothing changed for it to suddenly stop working.

If you updated to the beta (it's unclear from your post, imo) then no it will no longer function. As per Skate's link the Hawk was abandoned by the original developers and no longer functions. And no, there is nothing ED can do about it because VEAO were uncooperative and would not release the data needed to continue development.

You can continue using it ONLY if you roll back to the version you were using before.

Hook47 04-05-2019 10:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SkateZilla (Post 3870941)

The OP already knows this. The question seems to be has anyone else had the Hawk basically break on the old version? OP did you try a repair or maybe attempt a reinstall of the Hawk?

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk

MrDieing 04-06-2019 12:38 PM

Did you accidentally update your 2.5.3 to the latest version?

Tread_Head57 04-08-2019 04:22 AM

F

-_Cuervo_- 04-08-2019 03:57 PM

I need a Goshawk now

Aries 05-01-2019 08:52 PM

Do you use same savegame folder for both versions?

lxsapper 01-08-2020 01:10 PM

I just installed 2.5.3 to check on something, I chose this particular version because I figured I could check on what I wanted and I could insatall the Hawk on it and fly it. The thing is aparently the most recent updater does not recognize the Hawk as a Valid module. Anyone has any idea how I can the Hawk working on 2.5.3?

lxsapper 01-08-2020 01:56 PM

A log of the event:


00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-08 14:54:26
00000.011 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.011 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.017 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.019 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.019 INFO : DCS/2.5.5.41371 (x86_64; EN; WORLD,A-10C,PERSIANGULF_terrain,MIG-21BIS,NEVADA_terrain,CA,P-51D,HEATBLUR_F-14)
00000.019 INFO : branch:
00000.019 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.430 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.099 INFO : Got reply from srv2update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.120 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00001.686 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00001.864 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00029.727 === Log closed.

zhukov032186 01-08-2020 09:31 PM

You would probably need to PM Skatezilla or at least post in the updater thread. He's not too likely to notice it here.

lxsapper 01-08-2020 09:35 PM

Ok thanks for the tip.

BIGNEWY 01-08-2020 09:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lxsapper (Post 4166412)
A log of the event:


00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-08 14:54:26
00000.011 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.011 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.017 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.019 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.019 INFO : DCS/2.5.5.41371 (x86_64; EN; WORLD,A-10C,PERSIANGULF_terrain,MIG-21BIS,NEVADA_terrain,CA,P-51D,HEATBLUR_F-14)
00000.019 INFO : branch:
00000.019 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.430 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.099 INFO : Got reply from srv2update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.120 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00001.686 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00001.864 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00029.727 === Log closed.

Hi

Your log says it is still DCS/2.5.5.41371

you need 2.5.3 for the HAWK

2.5.3 Batch file can be found here https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...pport/faq/685/

lxsapper 01-09-2020 01:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BIGNEWY (Post 4166939)
Hi

Your log says it is still DCS/2.5.5.41371

you need 2.5.3 for the HAWK

2.5.3 Batch file can be found here https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...pport/faq/685/

@BIGNEWY yes it does say that, I think it has something with the fact that I did a regular install of the main Current Version and then used Skate zilla Updater GUI to revert back to 2.5.3. But I assure you I was indeed running 2.5.3. And that Trying to install the HAWK did not work eighter from Skate Zilla's tool or from within game using the module manager. I think reverting a 2.5.5 installation is leaving some things from 2.5.5 instead of reverting completly to 2.5.3 as seen in the log.

SkateZilla 01-09-2020 04:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lxsapper (Post 4167034)
@BIGNEWY yes it does say that, I think it has something with the fact that I did a regular install of the main Current Version and then used Skate zilla Updater GUI to revert back to 2.5.3. But I assure you I was indeed running 2.5.3. And that Trying to install the HAWK did not work eighter from Skate Zilla's tool or from within game using the module manager. I think reverting a 2.5.5 installation is leaving some things from 2.5.5 instead of reverting completly to 2.5.3 as seen in the log.

You did not correctly revert to 2.5.3, as you log says "DCS/2.5.5.41371"

I just reverted to 2.5.3 as a test and it worked fine.

lxsapper 01-09-2020 07:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SkateZilla (Post 4167077)
You did not correctly revert to 2.5.3, as you log says "DCS/2.5.5.41371"

I just reverted to 2.5.3 as a test and it worked fine.

Well it's said 2.5.3 when loading on the corner of the main screen and it ran with 2.5.3 assets, for exemple the old A-10C cockpit, and only allowed for aircraft avaiable back on 2.5.3. So I don't know what to tell you.
I'm reverting again using the batch file indicated by BIGNEWY, wainting for it to finish in a few minutes. Well see how it goes afterwards.

lxsapper 01-09-2020 08:01 AM

Same result. This is the logs trying to install the HAWK once from within DCS the other with the Updater GUI.

00000.027 --- Log file: D:\Sims\DCS253\autoupdate_log.txt
00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-09 08:48:49
00000.015 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.015 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\dcs_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.018 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.025 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.027 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.027 INFO : branch:
00000.027 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.451 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.006 INFO : Got reply from srv10update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.008 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00001.010 STATUS: Downloading version info...
00001.916 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00002.099 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00005.561 === Log closed.

00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-09 08:53:21
00000.016 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.016 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.024 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.025 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.026 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.026 INFO : branch:
00000.026 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.435 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.778 INFO : Got reply from srv8update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.780 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00000.990 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00001.183 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00002.574 === Log closed.

Notice that it now makes no mention of DCS version.
If I had to gess I'd say it's the lastest version of the Updater itself that is not recognizing the module, regardless of what DCS version it's trying to update.

Skate Zilla when you reverted to 2.5.3 did you per chance also installed the HAWK module or just reverted to 2.5.3?

lxsapper 01-09-2020 08:10 AM

Here I'm including the log of the Updater reverting back to 2.5.3 providing it as link to the shared file because of the size:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1D0...w8IQrOuLQ2ML2i

You may also notice that there is some error at the end. I belive I also got that error yesterday, I didn't pay much atention to it, as DCS running on 2.5.3 was (as is now) functional.

So if you could provide assistence determining what is wrong I'd apreciate it.

Maddogs57 04-08-2020 12:18 AM

Hawk
 
I trying to but its now been taken out of beta, shame great little plane:)

paco2002 05-10-2020 04:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lxsapper (Post 4167172)
Same result. This is the logs trying to install the HAWK once from within DCS the other with the Updater GUI.

00000.027 --- Log file: D:\Sims\DCS253\autoupdate_log.txt
00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-09 08:48:49
00000.015 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.015 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\dcs_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.018 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.025 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.027 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.027 INFO : branch:
00000.027 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.451 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.006 INFO : Got reply from srv10update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.008 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00001.010 STATUS: Downloading version info...
00001.916 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00002.099 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00005.561 === Log closed.

00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2020-01-09 08:53:21
00000.016 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.8.81 (Windows NT 10.0.17763; Win64; pt-PT)
00000.016 INFO : cmdline: "D:\Sims\DCS253\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply install VEAO_HAWK
00000.024 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.025 INFO : basedir: D:\Sims\DCS253
00000.026 INFO : DCS/ (x86_64; EN; WORLD)
00000.026 INFO : branch:
00000.026 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00000.435 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.778 INFO : Got reply from srv8update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00000.780 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00000.990 STATUS: Preparing to install VEAO_HAWK ...
00001.183 ERROR: Unknown module VEAO_HAWK
00002.574 === Log closed.

Notice that it now makes no mention of DCS version.
If I had to gess I'd say it's the lastest version of the Updater itself that is not recognizing the module, regardless of what DCS version it's trying to update.

Skate Zilla when you reverted to 2.5.3 did you per chance also installed the HAWK module or just reverted to 2.5.3?

I think that ED has cleaned the Hawk from the downloads server.

Cerry_00 05-11-2020 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Maddogs57 (Post 4277393)
I trying to but its now been taken out of beta, shame great little plane:)

Shame we actually payed for that.. :(

Fri13 05-11-2020 09:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cerry_00 (Post 4326620)
Shame we actually payed for that.. :(

Well.... It was a good thing to happen, as ED realized they needed to add a new clause to the agreement that 3rd party studios needs to hand off the source code for maintenance if they drop out from the DCS business etc. This just quarentees that ED is the one that is then responsible for the module maintenance etc to guarantee it works in the future and the "Hawk incident" doesn't happen again.

zhukov032186 05-12-2020 12:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fri13 (Post 4326644)
Well.... It was a good thing to happen, as ED realized they needed to add a new clause to the agreement that 3rd party studios needs to hand off the source code for maintenance if they drop out from the DCS business etc. This just quarentees that ED is the one that is then responsible for the module maintenance etc to guarantee it works in the future and the "Hawk incident" doesn't happen again.

Agreed. Better a relatively minor plane from a smallish company than something big and expensive down the road when somebody goes belly up or something due to bankruptcy and/or internal drama then somebody decides to take their ball and go home.

Pman 05-12-2020 08:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fri13 (Post 4326644)
Well.... It was a good thing to happen, as ED realized they needed to add a new clause to the agreement that 3rd party studios needs to hand off the source code for maintenance if they drop out from the DCS business etc. This just quarentees that ED is the one that is then responsible for the module maintenance etc to guarantee it works in the future and the "Hawk incident" doesn't happen again.

Just to straighten the rope a bit - it was the other way around

ED presented a new contract with this as one (but not the only new clause) and the team walked away, the clause did not come in after this.

Pman

cichlidfan 05-12-2020 07:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pman (Post 4327797)
Just to straighten the rope a bit - it was the other way around

ED presented a new contract with this as one (but not the only new clause) and the team walked away, the clause did not come in after this.

Pman

Interesting take since that is not the way it was presented by VEAO or ED when it occured.

Pman 05-13-2020 06:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cichlidfan (Post 4328601)
Interesting take since that is not the way it was presented by VEAO or ED when it occured.

It is if you read the VEAO statement carefully. The new contract was the tipping point that made the decision to walk away, the contract wasn't a result of VEAO walking away.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.