ED Forums

ED Forums (https://forums.eagle.ru/index.php)
-   DCS: WWII Assets Pack (https://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=558)
-   -   Allied AA that works? (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=206029)

philstyle 04-08-2018 05:44 PM

Allied AA that works?
 
Hi all,

I'm unable to get the 40mm Bofors to actually fire at incoming enemy aircraft.
Has anyone had success with these units?

I also noted online today that there was ZERO AA firing at the airfields I was using.. not sure if that was by design or also due to the 40mm being.. essentially.. useless.

razo+r 04-08-2018 05:51 PM

My Bofors were always firing so far...

Did you by any chance set a ROE?

philstyle 04-09-2018 07:22 AM

Hi Razo+r,
I've tried with and without setting an ROE.
I have tried with static AA and group AA.


I have a single AI 109 that I am using to test the AA guns. The 109 is set to coalition blue. The guns are set to coalition red.
I fly the 109 over the gund at 200m AND 1000m.


At att all skill levels except "excellent" the guns do not fire a shot
At "excellent" skill level the 109 is 1-shot-killed by the AA.


I'm testing on Caucasus map, in the current "stable" version.


Anyone got any tips for setting up the AA guns so I can at least test a few combinations?

Double_D 04-09-2018 08:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by philstyle (Post 3446885)
Hi Razo+r,
I've tried with and without setting an ROE.
I have tried with static AA and group AA.


I have a single AI 109 that I am using to test the AA guns. The 109 is set to coalition blue. The guns are set to coalition red.
I fly the 109 over the gund at 200m AND 1000m.


At att all skill levels except "excellent" the guns do not fire a shot
At "excellent" skill level the 109 is 1-shot-killed by the AA.


I'm testing on Caucasus map, in the current "stable" version.


Anyone got any tips for setting up the AA guns so I can at least test a few combinations?


Do you have Trigger Zones setup?? For when the 109 enter to have the AAA to fire??
:music_whistling:

Just asking??

philstyle 04-09-2018 08:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Double_D (Post 3446912)
Do you have Trigger Zones setup?? For when the 109 enter to have the AAA to fire??
Just asking??



No I haven't, would that be necessary? (it never used to be necesasay..)
Aren't AI supposed to automatically target threats from an enemy coalition?

SUNTSAG 04-09-2018 10:05 AM

I have the Bofors setup and working in Normandy. They do take time to acquire their target but when they do they open up.

All this is without any triggers and a lone 109 with three Bofors units. See attached very simple mission.

It shouldn't have an impact but I always setup Allied Forces as BLUEFOR in every mission I put together. I also set AI to average every time too. Cheers.

philstyle 04-09-2018 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SUNTSAG (Post 3446982)
I have the Bofors setup and working in Normandy. They do take time to acquire their target but when they do they open up.

All this is without any triggers and a lone 109 with three Bofors units. See attached very simple mission.
It shouldn't have an impact but I always setup Allied Forces as BLUEFOR in every mission I put together. I also set AI to average every time too. Cheers.


Thanks SUNTSAG, I will take a look at your miz file when I am in front of DCS next!

gavagai 04-12-2018 01:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by philstyle (Post 3446924)
No I haven't, would that be necessary? (it never used to be necesasay..)
Aren't AI supposed to automatically target threats from an enemy coalition?

Yeah, trigger zones aren't necessary. The 40mm bofors will fire, but their aim stinks, even when set to a higher skill level. Better to set Bulgaria to Blue and use the German AAA units for airfield defense.

philstyle 04-12-2018 07:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gavagai (Post 3449937)
Better to set Bulgaria to Blue and use the German AAA units for airfield defense.





Great, so the same old problem we've had in the past with other titles, where mission makers had to use German AA guns for Allied AA defence, becasue the developer saw fit to NOT provide working allied AA.


I know the german 88mm was FAMOUS, and that we've all heard storeis about how dangerous German flak was, but the allies had plenty of the stuff too, and it was also very dangerous.


Grrr...

71st_AH Rob 04-12-2018 06:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by philstyle (Post 3450088)
Great, so the same old problem we've had in the past with other titles, where mission makers had to use German AA guns for Allied AA defence, becasue the developer saw fit to NOT provide working allied AA.


I know the german 88mm was FAMOUS, and that we've all heard storeis about how dangerous German flak was, but the allies had plenty of the stuff too, and it was also very dangerous.


Grrr...

The 88 doesn't work again since the last update in multiplayer anyway, at least you can see it and the animations work as well as the sound of firing, but there is no muzzle flash or shell burst and you can fly circles around it at any altitude without fear of taking damage.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.