CNC laser versus milling machine - A newbie's quest

wolfster

Hi all,

I'm a total newbie to the world of home cockpit building but I have been totally inspired by the absolutely stunning cockpit examples coupled the community spirit of this forum, to start my own project.

I've been reading the forums for a number of weeks and have come to the conclusion that a CNC machine for building panels is a must (especially given my skill with hand tools!).

Due to my limited budget, I would be looking at a Chinese eBay type machine but I cannot decide between a CO2 Laser engraving / cutting machine, which I've seen great results on Gadroc's and Agrasyuk build pages and a CNC milling machine such as the CNC3040.

The CNC milling machine feels like a more flexible option as it can mill lightweight metal parts but I'm not sure how good the engraving results are.

I would really value the input of the community in my discussion making process.

It would also be fantastic to get some photos of panels created with a laser and milling machine for comparison and the types / models of the machines used.

Thanks in advance and happy new year to one and all

I have both machines, a cnc router and a laser.

There is overlap with what each can do so while I might have a job that the router is capable of I may still use the laser instead or vice versa.

There isn't much the laser can do that the router cannot do but the difference is in the quality - specifically when it comes to engraving and the speed of it.

IF I had to have only one machine and it was to make cockpit panels then I would take the laser over the router.

This is because it can cut the material, it can engrave it giving a professional look that the router cannot and it can do it a lot more quickly. Parts can be cut quickly without as much waste and you can cut inside corners squarely which can't be done with the router.