Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2012, 10:49 AM   #1
TurboHog
Senior Member
 
TurboHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,480
Reputation power: 18
TurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of light
Default JTAC & AWACS for KA-50

I was reading a post from someone and he said: If the A10C has JTAC, then why is it not possible to add it for the KA-50? Now that I started learning about modding I thought: Let's have a go at this. Within an hour I was talking to Axeman 1-1 using the R-828 VHF-1 radio. "Smoke is on the deck!"

About this mod:

This modification will add the JTAC and AWACS to your radio menu. You will be able to communicate with them just as in the A10C.

Features:

- The R-828 channels were updated to commonly used VHF AM frequencies.
- The JTACs and AWACSes options were added to the radio menu and are functioning.
- JTAC transmits coordinates in L/L (DMS) format.
- Kneeboard integration

Demonstration video: Nothing fancy, just showing how (well) it works. Using TGT point creation with ingress on TGT point and Willy Pete.



All information about this mod can be found in the manual (separate download, see attachments). This manual also includes instructions for using the R-828 and the PVI-800 for TGT point creation in the form of a step-by-step guide.

Version information:

V1.0
- initial release
V1.1
- Added instructions in the manual for changing the Weapons folder. Check-in line now works.
- New sound files to fix broken messages
- JTAC now uses L/L
V1.2
- Working with DCSW 1.2.1 and up
V1.3
- Ground Crew NVG and Turbo Gear bug fixed
- Added frequency table on the pilot's kneeboard (By Ebs)
- Added better sound for the Russian word 'And'
- Optimized folders for installation by JSGME
- Updated the manual
- JTAC now transmits DMS coordinates in XX'XX.XXX format instead of XX'XX.X
V1.4
- Working with DCSW 1.2.4 and up
V1.5
- Working with DCSW 1.2.6 and up

Thanks to Ebs, Kegetys, Puddlemonkey and the testers for their contribution...
Attached Files
File Type: pdf JTAC&AWACS Ka-50 manual 1.3.pdf (853.6 KB, 2405 views)
File Type: rar JTAC&AWACS Ka-50 v1.5.rar (259.5 KB, 1657 views)
__________________
'Frett'

Last edited by TurboHog; 09-15-2013 at 09:35 PM.
TurboHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:10 AM   #2
Corrigan
Senior Member
 
Corrigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 1,541
Reputation power: 18
Corrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of lightCorrigan is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Cool stuff, well done!
__________________
Win10 x64 | SSDs | i5 2500K @ 4.4 GHz | 16 GB RAM | GTX 970 | TM Warthog HOTAS | Saitek pedals | TIR5
Corrigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 11:59 AM   #3
HiJack
Veteran
 
HiJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 5,507
Reputation power: 69
HiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to behold
Default

This can be used by Su-25T also? And maby A-10A and Su-25 that is coming with FC3?

(HJ)
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit FTW!
My DCS Tools:
Quick Airfield information , Better trim with the X52 Pro , Tacview Glideslopes

Spoiler:

ASUS Z97-PRO, Socket-1150
Intel® Core i7-4770K Processor @ 4.60 GHz
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133MHz CL9 4x8GB
Sapphire Radeon TRI-X R9 390X 8GB "OC"
Samsung SSD 850PRO 1TB SSD
WD 2TB Black 3,5", SATA64MB Cache, Dual Processor, 7200RPM
Windows 7 64-bit
Philips 40" 4K LED BDM4065UC/00
HiJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 12:07 PM   #4
TurboHog
Senior Member
 
TurboHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,480
Reputation power: 18
TurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HiJack View Post
This can be used by Su-25T also? And maby A-10A and Su-25 that is coming with FC3?

(HJ)
Yes, all of them. P-51 as well. Even player controlled ground units but that wouldn't make sense. But first I'm going to test it for the KA-50 and see if I can use it in multiplayer without breaking compatibility...
__________________
'Frett'
TurboHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 12:12 PM   #5
Schnarre [Aggro]
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Downtown Basel "leftside"
Posts: 345
Reputation power: 12
Schnarre [Aggro] is just really niceSchnarre [Aggro] is just really niceSchnarre [Aggro] is just really niceSchnarre [Aggro] is just really niceSchnarre [Aggro] is just really niceSchnarre [Aggro] is just really niceSchnarre [Aggro] is just really niceSchnarre [Aggro] is just really nice
Send a message via Skype™ to Schnarre [Aggro]
Default

wouldnt it make sense to insert LL coordinates for the shark ?
as far as i know (i might be wrong) its only possible to check LL koordinates in the abris
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikko View Post
There are two types of fighter pilots - those who have, and those who will execute a magnificent break turn towards a bug on the canopy . . . .
www.youtube.com/user/schnarrsonvomdach
www.twitch.tv/schnarre
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Schna...743788?fref=ts
Schnarre [Aggro] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 12:28 PM   #6
TurboHog
Senior Member
 
TurboHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,480
Reputation power: 18
TurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schnarre [Aggro] View Post
wouldnt it make sense to insert LL coordinates for the shark ?
as far as i know (i might be wrong) its only possible to check LL koordinates in the abris
You can enter L/L in the PVI-800 very fast if you do it often... if you use a TGT point you can even ingress on target. However, elevation data is unknown and set at 0 MSL, so ingress on TGT point in mountains is confusing.

See current problems in first post. JTAC must use L/L. Can't figure out how to do that it seems that I can't edit this. Willy Pete is working great!
__________________
'Frett'

Last edited by TurboHog; 08-20-2012 at 02:25 PM.
TurboHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 07:21 PM   #7
TurboHog
Senior Member
 
TurboHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,480
Reputation power: 18
TurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Added the manual to the first post. It includes some extra info about the PVI-800, the R-828 and about converting MGRS to L/L, which is still required (unless I can find a fix with the help of someone).

Waiting for the same someone's help to resolve one of the issue's.
__________________
'Frett'

Last edited by TurboHog; 08-20-2012 at 07:26 PM.
TurboHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 07:26 PM   #8
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,827
Reputation power: 179
Nate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud ofNate--IRL-- has much to be proud of
Default

Impressive - a much requested feature too.

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 07:31 PM   #9
mwd2
Senior Member
 
mwd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,628
Reputation power: 14
mwd2 is just really nicemwd2 is just really nicemwd2 is just really nicemwd2 is just really nicemwd2 is just really nicemwd2 is just really nicemwd2 is just really nicemwd2 is just really nice
Default

Quote:
... coordinates are not L/L
You can use SLMOD 6.1 from Speed http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=80979 to convert the coordination - but it will not work in Singleplayer Missions!
__________________
Waiting for:DCS Mi-24 Hind, ...

"Do you know the way to Chak Chak?."
mwd2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:42 PM   #10
TurboHog
Senior Member
 
TurboHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,480
Reputation power: 18
TurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of lightTurboHog is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwd2 View Post
You can use SLMOD 6.1 from Speed http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=80979 to convert the coordination - but it will not work in Singleplayer Missions!
Most servers and almost all open servers are not running SLmod. There are other possibilities to convert coordinates.

http://www.earthpoint.us/Convert.aspx

Got this on my phone and was able to create a TGT point based on L/L coordinates 30 seconds after receiving the MGRS coordinates. You will have to be aware of the zone you're in all the time though, since the we live in 37T and 38T in our world
__________________
'Frett'
TurboHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
afac, black shark, jtac, ka-50, r-828

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:41 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.