Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2012, 05:16 PM   #1
elcid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Reputation power: 0
elcid is on a distinguished road
Default Where do screenshots go?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to DCS and all the modules but i've just finished installing DCS World and all the modules and I'm starting to fiddle around with DCS Mustang. I'v seen that the control for taking screenshots is "SysRq". I've tried taking shots but can't find where it's located. Can someone tell me where to find them?

Thanks
elcid
elcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:18 PM   #2
EtherealN
Coffee boy
 
EtherealN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: In front of a Р-27ЭТ
Posts: 14,984
Reputation power: 247
EtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant future
Default

It's not "sysrq", it is "print screen" - though usually this is the same key. The name might help explain why it is that key, though.

As for where: C:\Users\XXXXXX\Saved Games\DCS\Screenshots
__________________

Daniel "EtherealN" Agorander | Даниэль "эфирныйн" Агорандер
Intel i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Sabertooth P67, 8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600MHz, ASUS GTX 560Ti DirectCU II 1GB, Samsung 830series 512GB SSD, Corsair AX850w, two BENQ screens and TM HOTAS Warthog
DCS: A-10C Warthog FAQ | DCS: P-51D FAQ | Remember to read the Forum Rules | Hell Yeah! | Norse Religious Education
EtherealN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:26 PM   #3
elcid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Reputation power: 0
elcid is on a distinguished road
Default

Ahhh .. got it, thanks
elcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:14 PM   #4
Ironhand
Senior Member
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Enfield, NH, USA
Posts: 1,705
Reputation power: 26
Ironhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EtherealN View Post
It's not "sysrq", it is "print screen" - though usually this is the same key. The name might help explain why it is that key, though.

As for where: C:\Users\XXXXXX\Saved Games\DCS\Screenshots
Is there an editable file telling the sim where to put them. I'd love to be able to save them to a different location--the Win7 "Pictures" folder in a DCS folder of their own, for instance.


Rich
__________________
http://flankertraining.com/Banners/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:18 PM   #5
EtherealN
Coffee boy
 
EtherealN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: In front of a Р-27ЭТ
Posts: 14,984
Reputation power: 247
EtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant future
Default

I don't believe so unfortunately - in this aspect DCS is simply conforming to Microsoft-defined standard practices.

You can however use a secondary program (like FRAPS) to capture screenshots and define their destination manually.

EDIT: You may however be able to create symlinked directories where there is a symlink to that screenshot directory where you please - like the Pictures folder.
__________________

Daniel "EtherealN" Agorander | Даниэль "эфирныйн" Агорандер
Intel i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Sabertooth P67, 8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600MHz, ASUS GTX 560Ti DirectCU II 1GB, Samsung 830series 512GB SSD, Corsair AX850w, two BENQ screens and TM HOTAS Warthog
DCS: A-10C Warthog FAQ | DCS: P-51D FAQ | Remember to read the Forum Rules | Hell Yeah! | Norse Religious Education
EtherealN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 07:19 PM   #6
Ironhand
Senior Member
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Enfield, NH, USA
Posts: 1,705
Reputation power: 26
Ironhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EtherealN View Post
I don't believe so unfortunately - in this aspect DCS is simply conforming to Microsoft-defined standard practices.

You can however use a secondary program (like FRAPS) to capture screenshots and define their destination manually.

EDIT: You may however be able to create symlinked directories where there is a symlink to that screenshot directory where you please - like the Pictures folder.
I was afraid of that. But that's OK. It just would have been nice to keep all my images in the same general location.

Not sure what exactly you mean in your edit, nor how to go about it. If it gets to be that much of a PITA, I'll just create a BAT file to do a copy/paste for me and leave it on my Desktop. In fact, that might be the simplest, if least elegant, solution.

Rich
__________________
http://flankertraining.com/Banners/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 07:39 PM   #7
EtherealN
Coffee boy
 
EtherealN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: In front of a Р-27ЭТ
Posts: 14,984
Reputation power: 247
EtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant futureEtherealN has a brilliant future
Default

Actually, it's pretty simple to do:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	symlinking.png
Views:	539
Size:	115.2 KB
ID:	68673  
__________________

Daniel "EtherealN" Agorander | Даниэль "эфирныйн" Агорандер
Intel i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz, ASUS Sabertooth P67, 8GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600MHz, ASUS GTX 560Ti DirectCU II 1GB, Samsung 830series 512GB SSD, Corsair AX850w, two BENQ screens and TM HOTAS Warthog
DCS: A-10C Warthog FAQ | DCS: P-51D FAQ | Remember to read the Forum Rules | Hell Yeah! | Norse Religious Education
EtherealN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 07:47 PM   #8
Ironhand
Senior Member
 
Ironhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Enfield, NH, USA
Posts: 1,705
Reputation power: 26
Ironhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of lightIronhand is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EtherealN View Post
Actually, it's pretty simple to do:
A BAT file sitting on my Desktop would be SOOOO retro, though. Thanks for the how-to. Didn't realize you could do that. Cool. I'll give it a shot.


Rich
__________________
http://flankertraining.com/Banners/Flankertraining_Banner-1a.jpg
Ironhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 05:08 PM   #9
Diemos
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 99
Reputation power: 7
Diemos has a spectacular aura aboutDiemos has a spectacular aura aboutDiemos has a spectacular aura aboutDiemos has a spectacular aura aboutDiemos has a spectacular aura about
Default

EtherealN, your fix does not physically move the pics to the intended folder (as I read Ironhand's intent), but instead creates a link to the DCS Screenshot folder in the Libraries/Pictures "quick link" so you can quickly view the files... Kind of like putting a shortcut to the folder somewhere so you can get at it quicker!

The pictures are still stored in their original location...

I assume you were aware, I just want to be sure it's clear! With all these links, pointers, etc., I think it gets more and more confusing as to where the "physical" files are really stored...

Last edited by Diemos; 07-28-2012 at 05:11 PM.
Diemos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:43 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.