Aerial Refueling Training

Aylward

Here's a simple SP/MP training mission for practicing Aerial Refueling. There are two KC-135 tankers flying a box pattern between Batumi (where you take off) and Sukhumi, one on each corner of the box so even if you join late, one should be nearby when you take off. They are stationed at two different altitudes. Room for 8 clients and a player slot with varied loadouts(most are inert rounds and fuel tanks..combat is not part of this mission, just tanking with varied loads)... We had 5-6 in it most of last night with just the one tanker and it was a blast. Added the second tanker on a diff freq and a few more client slots (including the SP player) and it looks ok. I'm new with this editor stuff so be gentle.. :P

Note: The tankers are reachable by radio by all clients, but Tacan for the tankers only seems to work for the host (is ED gonna fix that hopefully?)

Hope this makes practicing this a little easier. Enjoy ! :pilotfly:

p.s. - My noob advice so far... DONT FOLLOW THE BOOM !! Stay level on the alt you settle on and slide forward at no more then 1-2 knots closure til the boom is filling your hud, then ease up to 0 closure and just inch it forward til it contacts. The boom will come to you if you are within reach and level. I aim for just below the wings on the boom when it's extended for a flight level and then focus on keeping the bubble on the horizon line and my line up on the tanker and then move forward ever so gently... :joystick:

Would love to hear what SOP is from the real hog pilots, including handling formations for multiple planes waiting to tank. We were lining up on it's right side last night to queue up, and then moving left when finished at someone's suggestion for lack of a better system..

Aerial_Refueling_Training.miz

Edited by Aylward

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]

please... please... please... let the next DCS module be an F-18 fighter aircraft :worthy: