Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2010, 12:56 PM   #1
MadTommy+
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,589
Reputation power: 48
MadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to behold
Default Multi-monitor set-up guide & help (unofficial)

Multi monitor set-up guide: DCS-A10c & BlackShark 2

Display your MFCDs, CDU, RWR etc on a 2nd, 3rd etc monitor

Initial note: This guide is to help people create bespoke multimonitor configurations in DSC-Warthog, no matter what your configuration the principles are the same. Please add any tips or correct any errors i have made. I'll adjust this accordingly.

My set-up is two 22inch displays side by side, i'll use this as the primary example, but the logic covers any set-up. I have included several monitor set-up examples to help explain the principles.

Essential Requirements:
  • Full screen OFF (ingame).
  • Extended desktop enabled in Windows.
  • The 'primary' monitor, in Windows, needs to be your top left most monitor, otherwise you may have problems.
  • You need to create one lua file.
BlackShark 2 note:
  • Shkval is Left_MFCD
  • Abris is Right_MFCD

** Before editing DCS files please read this post: http://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php?...86&postcount=1

The Guide: 3 steps

Step 1:
1st thing you need to do is workout your total resolution of your combined monitors. Use the image below to help you work this out if you are unsure. Here you will find 3 example layouts..
Spoiler:
Note this figure down, this is your combined resolution.

Step 2:
Create you own bespoke multimonitor *.lua file and save it here: \Eagle Dynamics\DCS A-10C\Config\MonitorSetup\

How do this: (Read through this entire section before starting your *lua file), 1st time through you might well go WTF!, but trust me it is not that complicated.

First look at the default existing files in this location; (\Eagle Dynamics\DCS A-10C\Config\MonitorSetup\). They are good examples and the default ones provided with the game:

There is one example original ED file: LMFCD+Camera+RMFCD.lua
Spoiler:
_ = function(p) return p; end;
name = _('MFCD');
Description = 'Left MFCD on the left monitor,Right MFCD on the right and camera on the center'
Viewports =
{
Center =
{
x = screen.width / 3;
y = 0;
width = screen.width / 3;
height = screen.height;
viewDx = 0;
viewDy = 0;
aspect = screen.aspect / 3;
}
}

LEFT_MFCD =
{
x = 0;
y = 0;
width = screen.width / 3;
height = screen.height;
}

RIGHT_MFCD =
{
x = screen.width *(2 / 3);
y = 0;
width = screen.width / 3;
height = screen.height;
}

UIMainView = Viewports.Center
My example: My_example.lua
Spoiler:
_ = function(p) return p; end;
name = _('My_example');
Description = 'Two monitor configuration';
Viewports =
{
Center =
{
x = 0;
y = 0;
width = 1680;
height = 1050;
viewDx = 0;
viewDy = 0;
aspect = 1.6;
}
}

LEFT_MFCD =
{
x = 1680;
y = 105;
width = 840;
height = 840;
}

RIGHT_MFCD =
{
x = 2520;
y = 105;
width = 840;
height = 840;
}

UIMainView = Viewports.Center

NOTES: What it all means:

ED have used wording rather than numeric x/y coordinates. This is to allow flexibility. You can also use this format, but i find it more complicated, so i use the numeric pixel option. In ED's method screen.width = the combined width of all your monitors, (x), screen.height = the combined height of all your monitors, (y). So for me screen.width = 3360 (2x1680), screen.height = (1050)

I wanted both MFCDs on my 2nd monitor, this is located on the right of my main monitor. Both my monitors are 1680x1050.

Center = your cockpit view

x=0, y=0; is always located at the top left corner of your 'primary' monitor, in Windows.

The x & y coordinates always refer to the top left corner of each element. i.e the location of each MFCD is their top left corner.

You do not generally need to edit viewDx, viewDy or aspect. But it's worth checking the aspect ratio. This is calculated by dividing your width by height of you cockpit monitor.

name = is the name that will be displayed in the game options drop down under Monitors. (Make it unique)

width = & height = are x & y resolutions in pixels associated with each item, cockpit (centre), MFCDs, RWR, CDU etc.


Look at the spoilers below to explain the x/y system:

Screen coordinates explanation
: 3 example setups to help explain screen coordinates.
Spoiler:
Both x & y start on the top left corner of the left most monitor. x goes across the horizontal while y goes down the vertical.

My example set-up displayed: - putting it into practice, refer to my lua file My_example.lua above to understand what is going on.
Spoiler:
Ok now you should be able to start creating your own bespoke multi-monitor file accordingly to your own set-up, if i have made this clear enough and you have wrapped your brain around how this all works. I'd suggest you use my example above and edit it to suite your setup.

You need to save this file as file type .lua and save it in \Eagle Dynamics\DCS A-10C\Config\MonitorSetup.

Step 3:

Launch the game.. go to Options. (Here you need to do two things)

Firstly you should now be able to select your bespoke file from the drop down list labelled; MONITORS (If it is not in the list you have most likely made a small mistake with the lua code.. check for missing { , ) etc. if any part of the code is missing it will not be available to select.)

Secondly you need to enter your combined resolution, you can simply type this in. This is the total resolution you worked out at the start of this guide.
See image below:
Spoiler:
Your aspect ratio will alter itself.

General Notes:
You can edit you monitor file on the fly, i.e without having to quit the game. Can save a lot of hassle. If you don't get the results you want simply quit flight, alt tab, edit the file, alt tab back and click fly again... your new setting will be used.

I hope this is clear enough. Enjoy.

Screenshot of my set-up:
Spoiler:



____________________________________________
____________________________________________
Advanced section:

Adding CDU, RWR, Clock etc as Viewports =

Please read icemaker's thread http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=70716 on how to do this.

Below is my present setup incorporating MFCDs, RWR & CDU
Spoiler:
_ = function(p) return p; end;
name = _('Tommy_v3');
Description = 'Two monitor configuration';
Viewports =
{
Center =
{
x = 0;
y = 0;
width = screen.width /2;
height = screen.height;
viewDx = 0;
viewDy = 0;
aspect = 1.6;
}
}
LEFT_MFCD =
{
x = 1728;
y = 380;
width = 620;
height = 620;
}
RIGHT_MFCD =
{
x = 2440;
y = 380;
width = 620;
height = 620;
}
CDU_SCREEN =
{
x = 1770;
y = 25;
width = 426;
height = 324;
}
RWR_SCREEN =
{
x = 2280;
y = 147;
width = 178;
height = 178;
}
UIMainView = Viewports.Center


Incorporating Hawg Touch:

Clear Dark's Hawg Touch program: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=71729

My Hawg Touch profiles: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=70364
I'll be releasing a new Hawg Touch profile for the MFCDs, CDU & RWR shortly. Just awaiting to clear up a issue with it.

Here is what it looks like:
Spoiler:


Updated 27th June 2011.

Last edited by MadTommy; 11-16-2011 at 09:05 AM.
MadTommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:41 PM   #2
Fogu
Junior Member
 
Fogu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Reputation power: 8
Fogu will become famous soon enoughFogu will become famous soon enoughFogu will become famous soon enough
Default

Yeah sweet thnx
It really works
__________________


Fogu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:01 PM   #3
flash75
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Reputation power: 0
flash75 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

thanks you are the best!!!

flash
flash75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:06 PM   #4
hassata
Veteran
 
hassata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Black Hole Sun
Posts: 3,574
Reputation power: 115
hassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud of
Default

Nice write-up. One thing--you can input the resolution directly as text in In-game Options menu instead of manually editing the options.lua
__________________
hassata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:47 PM   #5
nebuluski
Member
 
nebuluski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Leatherhead, UK
Posts: 108
Reputation power: 8
nebuluski is on a distinguished roadnebuluski is on a distinguished road
Default

+1 : Nice write up! Perhaps ED can include something similiar in the GUI documentation!

Note that if you use multi monitor setup you will be unable to fly Multiplayer as the server setup screen looses visibility of the necessary buttons to create and join!

@ED: Any fix for this would be most welcome, the same problem exists with Black Shark! Why not just move the buttons to the top of the screen - they should then be visible! Hopefully a simple fix?
nebuluski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:59 PM   #6
MadTommy+
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,589
Reputation power: 48
MadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to beholdMadTommy is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nebuluski View Post
Note that if you use multi monitor setup you will be unable to fly Multiplayer as the server setup screen looses visibility of the necessary buttons to create and join!
That's a good point, but very dependant on your set-up. But very annoying for those affected, and its only the splash screen that causes the problem. Still you can easy flick between two options files for online & offline sorties. Not ideal.
MadTommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 12:10 AM   #7
Mastiff+
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Old USA, not the new socialist USA
Posts: 4,174
Reputation power: 43
Mastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadTommy View Post
That's a good point, but very dependant on your set-up. But very annoying for those affected, and its only the splash screen that causes the problem. Still you can easy flick between two options files for online & offline sorties. Not ideal.
just do what I did in Black Shark and move the graphics button cordinates, to the center.
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 01:59 AM   #8
hassata
Veteran
 
hassata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Black Hole Sun
Posts: 3,574
Reputation power: 115
hassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud ofhassata has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastiff View Post
move the graphics button cordinates, to the center.
Hi. how did you do that?
__________________
hassata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 03:09 AM   #9
Mastiff+
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Old USA, not the new socialist USA
Posts: 4,174
Reputation power: 43
Mastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to allMastiff is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassata View Post
Hi. how did you do that?
http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=54008
Mastiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 08:31 AM   #10
Fogu
Junior Member
 
Fogu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 32
Reputation power: 8
Fogu will become famous soon enoughFogu will become famous soon enoughFogu will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nebuluski View Post
+1 :
Note that if you use multi monitor setup you will be unable to fly Multiplayer as the server setup screen looses visibility of the necessary buttons to create and join!
The "phantomMonitorFix" exe works for me too
You can download it here:
click me
__________________


Fogu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi-monitor set up 28 inch wide screen 2*7 inch lilliput LCD's Mastiff Bugs and Problems 21 07-12-2012 01:34 AM
multi monitor config request. TOP and BOTTOM monitor hannibal Input and Output 3 08-02-2009 10:03 PM
multi screen set-up for lock on Cali Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 13 08-10-2006 01:32 AM
A Better A-10 & F-15, MiG-29 & Su-27 Cockpit & Skins Guide @LockOnFiles Updated 07/05 ThomasDWeiss Mods and Apps 2 08-09-2005 07:55 PM

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.