Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 01:15 PM   #1
StarForce
Junior Member
 
StarForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 20
Reputation power: 0
StarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really nice
Arrow StarForce AAA Technology on Warthog

Dear community,

I'm glad to announce that "DCS: A-10C Warthog" game is the very first one that use StarForcer AAA Technology.

What AAA is?

AAA - Automatically Add Activations

Shortly, it offer licensed user unlimited number of activations. But you may understand that actually unlimited activation = no control over sales = huge piracy rate. That's why we decided to add one activation back in time period = X secs/mins/hours/days............., after the last activation is burnt (time period is decided by publisher). It's mean that right after you use you last activation StarForce Server starts to count the time period, and give activation back once this period is over.

Hope this option will be usefull for you.

Have a nice flight!

NB. Ready to answer questions.
StarForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 01:42 PM   #2
MTFDarkEagle
Veteran
 
MTFDarkEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands, near EHTW
Posts: 4,812
Reputation power: 151
MTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud of
Default

Could you elaborate: "add one activation back in time period x"?
__________________
MTFDarkEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 11:46 AM   #3
StarForce
Junior Member
 
StarForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 20
Reputation power: 0
StarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really niceStarForce is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTFDarkEagle View Post
Could you elaborate: "add one activation back in time period x"?
Sure.
For example publisher decided to set time preiod = 2 weeks.
That means that after you burn last activation StarForce server starts to count 2 weeks and then added one actrivation for your serial number. So, in a 2 weeks you may activate the game one more time. After you activate it, server starts to count time period again. And this process goes permanently.
StarForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 12:01 PM   #4
Mower
Veteran
 
Mower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,340
Reputation power: 122
Mower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud of
Default

I trust there will not be any SF drivers installed. Or any other sort of Ring Zero interaction.

Because some piracy is the direct result of instrusive or flawed or broken DRM. People may buy the game but play a cracked one.
__________________
<HOOK TO STEEL!>
Current owner of DCS A10C, FC3, BS2, CA.
Mower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 01:40 PM   #5
bumfire
Senior Member
 
bumfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,254
Reputation power: 123
bumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud of
Default

it's a step in the right direction, but I can see problems with it.

Example, say someone used their last activation and the game publisher had set a 1 month or more time limit before you got the activation back.

Well, say an hour or so after you used your last activation your hard drive died, you replace it within 2 days at max, or even within 10 minutes if you have more than 1 hdd in your pc, once thats done you are forced to wait for the 30 days to run out before you can play again.

As I said, its a step in the right direction, because judging by some posts on the forums, some people have waited weeks for ED to hook them up with new keys, so this can only be a good thing, but for problems like I mentioned, I would be 1 mighty pissed off consumer if that were to happen to me.
bumfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 01:47 PM   #6
159th_Viper
Veteran
 
159th_Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 16,550
Reputation power: 465
159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute159th_Viper has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to 159th_Viper
Default

Yeah - can see where you're coming from bumfire. Would it not be possible for the process to kick-in at the second-last activation? Would prevent 'minor user-induced catastrophes'. I seem to recall vaporizing a couple of my BS activations for no other reason than..........I'll stop there.
__________________
'....And when I get to Heaven, to St Peter I will tell....
One more Soldier reporting Sir, I've served my time in Hell......'

Novice or Veteran looking for an alternative MP career?
Click me to commence your Journey of Pillage and Plunder!
159th_Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 02:39 PM   #7
bumfire
Senior Member
 
bumfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,254
Reputation power: 123
bumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud ofbumfire has much to be proud of
Default

Second to last would be a good solution Viper.

I have also wiped out a couple activations due to, how can I put this, ach I will just blame the pc
bumfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:38 PM   #8
asparagin
Senior Member
 
asparagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany / Switzerland
Posts: 1,974
Reputation power: 99
asparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud ofasparagin has much to be proud of
Default

There's an easy solution to that: You get let's say 3 activations. You use one, the timer starts. If something happens you could that use one of the remaining 2 (like a back-up), and then when the timer runs out you have 3 again. Sounds easy and logical to me. Why don't you make it like this?
__________________
Spoiler:
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
P8P67 Rev 3.1
Noctua NH-DH14
970GTX Phantom, 4GB
Cooler Master SilentPro 700W
Kingston HyperX 240GB
8G DDR 3 1600 MHz
Cooler Master 932 HAF
Win 10 X64 Pro
asparagin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 03:49 PM   #9
Mower
Veteran
 
Mower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,340
Reputation power: 122
Mower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud ofMower has much to be proud of
Default

Where did they go?
__________________
<HOOK TO STEEL!>
Current owner of DCS A10C, FC3, BS2, CA.
Mower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 04:04 PM   #10
Boberro
Veteran
 
Boberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 5,872
Reputation power: 237
Boberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant futureBoberro has a brilliant future
Default

Example in my case SF ate activation when I plugged web camera. Another time when I plugged joystick. To prevent X day waiting for activations I think it'd be better if counter started since first activation use.
__________________
Reminder: Fighter pilots make movies. Bomber pilots make... HISTORY! | French tanks have 1 gear forward and 5 backward
| ಠ_ಠ |

Boberro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BMP-3 AAA? Wolfala AI 60 06-06-2015 08:16 PM
Новый джой Thrustmaster HOTAS WARTHOG, точная копия с A-10C Warthog. Doc Thrustmaster 16 11-13-2010 06:39 AM
AAA/SAM Mod Silver_Dragon Mods and Apps 21 04-27-2010 06:34 PM
Concealed AAA Big_les DCS: Ka-50 Black Shark 5 02-09-2009 06:02 AM
Poor AAA Accuracy 169th_DedCat Bugs and Problems 3 06-18-2005 02:09 AM

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:38 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.