Dogfighting in the F-15C.

Skall

Hi everyone. I have a few questions related to dogfighting in the F-15 that came about from a couple of different sources and I could use some guidance here. If you don't care to read the entire thing (it is a bit lengthy), you can just jump to my highlighted questions in bold. Thank you for your time.

Let me preface this by saying that I'm pretty new to A2A combat in general. My understanding is that the F-15 is ok in a turning dogfight but was not really made for it and I should try to exploit its advantages in BVR. As a consequence, I've been focusing on the BVR side of things though would like to get decent in a turning fight in case it came to it.

Even though I own FC2, I never really played it. Life got in the way and I just never got around to it. Ended up purchasing FC3 and I finally got to playing it. While browsing through the FC2 mission folders today I noticed a folder called F-15 DACT. In there are some very basic missions for BVR, heat seeker only, and guns only skirmishes in one-on-one and XvX setups. In the guns only variants, the missions can be flown vs a MiG-23, a MiG-29S and an Su-27.

Silly question but, in the Eagle, is it harder to do a turning fight against a MiG-29 or Su-27? My (probably flawed) understanding is that, while the Su-27 gets all the glory, the 29 is actually the better turning plane out of the two as it is more like the F-16 (a nimble close-in fighter) than the F-15.

In my quest to attempt to answer this question on my own, I went to the interwebs and started digging around. I eventually came across this article in simHQ http://www.simhq.com/_air/air_097d.html. Immediately a few things baffled me about it: