Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2013, 04:28 AM   #1
Crunch
Veteran
 
Crunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge ON Canada
Posts: 3,144
Reputation power: 116
Crunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Crunch
Default Disconnecting Controllers Easily with Scripts in Windows

For games/sims that don't support multiple controllers (Lazy Game Devs!) here is a way to simply click a shortcut that will disable selected controllers without having to manually unplug the USB cords. You can then click a shortcut to enable all controllers.

I've done this in Win 7, but I'm fairly certain you can do this in Vista and 8 as well. A bit of setup to begin, but a stich in time saves nine as they say...

Step 1
Download the devcon tool.
I shared it at the following link. I have used it with Win7 64
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?b2igq0q38am229z
Extract and place devcon.exe in a folder of your choice

Step 2
Get the Hardware IDs of each game controller from the properties screen in Devices and Printers. Copy and paste each one into a notepad file for reference.

- Go to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Devices and Printers
- Right click on the controller and select Properties. Select Hardware tab. Select Properties button. Select Details tab. Select the Property drop down menu and select Hardware Ids to get to the screen below. Select the top ID number, right click, copy, then paste it into notepad.



Step 3
Create a .bat file for each controller you want to use on it's own. Also, create a .bat file to enable all controllers.

In this example I will create a bat file to disable all but my gamepad.
- Using notepad create a file and save it to the same location you saved the file devon.exe. Name it something like 'Xbox Gamepad.bat'
- In the file you just created in notepad, type the words 'devcon enable' followed by a space, then the ID number in quotation marks of the controller to enable. In this case my gamepad. Paste it from your reference file.
- Type the words 'devcon disable' followed by a space, then the ID number in quotation marks of each controller to disable. I have another 8 controllers to disable. (yes I have too many)
- Save the file

The file should look like the following



- Create an additional separate bat file for any other controller you want to use as the only controller connected to Windows. I have a bat file to disable all but my gamepad, a bat file for all but my wheel, and a bat file for all but my CH controllers. Save each file separately.

- Create a bat file that enables all controllers and name it 'All.bat'. Save it in the same location as devcon.exe. This bat file is the one you can open to have all controllers re-enabled again for games that support multiple controllers.

Here is what mine looks like for all my 9 controllers.



Now you should have all your files saved in one folder. Similar to the following.



Step 4
Create a shortcut to each bat file. Place the shortcut somewhere you can click it quick. Here is where mine are.




That's it. Click on a shortcut to enable your controller(s) of choice. You can verify what controllers are enabled at any time by going to the Game Controller applet. Below you can see just my gamepad, but all 9 of my controllers are physically plugged into my computer's USB ports still.


Last edited by Crunch; 12-18-2013 at 04:48 AM.
Crunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 06:13 AM   #2
MTFDarkEagle
Veteran
 
MTFDarkEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands, near EHTW
Posts: 4,812
Reputation power: 151
MTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud of
Default

Very nifty Should come in handy for a couple of racing games (which I haven't played in a while since I've built my pit )

Nice!
__________________
MTFDarkEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 01:02 PM   #3
Milli
Member
 
Milli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Shropshire, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 621
Reputation power: 11
Milli is just really niceMilli is just really niceMilli is just really niceMilli is just really niceMilli is just really niceMilli is just really niceMilli is just really niceMilli is just really nice
Default

Thanks.

Regards,
Milli
Milli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 05:13 PM   #4
Crunch
Veteran
 
Crunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge ON Canada
Posts: 3,144
Reputation power: 116
Crunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud ofCrunch has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Crunch
Default

You're welcome Milli. Microsoft should add a disable button to the Game Controller applet. Problem solved. Really though, every game on the PC nowadays should be able to support multiple controllers. If they all followed ED's example, we'd all be better off.
Crunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 05:17 PM   #5
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 16,233
Reputation power: 101
cichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to behold
Default

Yes. Thanks. Your post is now a part of my PDF How-to library.
__________________
ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Hero, i7-6700K, Noctua NH-D14 Cooler, Crucial 32GB DDR4 2133, Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB, Samsung EVO 250GB & 500GB SSD, 2TB Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme 8GB, Corsair HX1000i, Phillips BDM4065UC 40" 4k monitor, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 09:45 PM   #6
Hawk_5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 126
Reputation power: 5
Hawk_5 will become famous soon enoughHawk_5 will become famous soon enoughHawk_5 will become famous soon enoughHawk_5 will become famous soon enough
Default

Sadly despite following this very closely it doesn't work for me. I'm using Win 7 64 home. I stopped the bat file running with the pause key to see what what going on (it flashes by so quick when it runs I had to be fast on the key) I could see that it states "No matching devices found" when trying to either enable or disable any of the devices in my bat files.

I have cross checked the device ID's displayed while running Devcon with those displayed in the hardware ID section in device properties very carefully and ensured there were no typo's in the bat file. It just doesn't seem to work.

The concept is fine though as I did the task manually and disabled the devices I need to disable via the properties and that removed them from the game controllers list which achieved the end result.

Its the long way of going about it but saves me from having to unplug my Thrustmaster MFD's when I fly IL2 as they steal ID's 3 & 4 which my IL2 install needs to see for the rudder pedals and my trim box.
__________________
Hawk_5

Modules:
A10C, BS2, FC3, P51, CA, UH-1H, Mi-8MTV2


System:
Gigabyte GA-X79UP4 MB, intel 3930k, Coolermaster Siedon 120M liquid cooled, Corsair Vengence Red 16GB 2133Mhz, Gigabyte Geforce GTX680 2GB Super o'clk, intel 520 SSD 240GB,
Seagate Barracuda 2TB
HD, Coolermaster Silent Pro 800W PS, Coolermaster CM690 II Case

Hawk_5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 05:25 PM   #7
Snacko
Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 738
Reputation power: 10
Snacko will become famous soon enoughSnacko will become famous soon enoughSnacko will become famous soon enoughSnacko will become famous soon enough
Default

My x52 Pro has more than one item in the list on the Details page? There is a (HID) and a (USB). But your instructions do not say which one to pick...

There are even more for my new x55 Stick, and that does not include the throttle which has just as many... And each one can have multiple Hardware IDs too??

See Attachment...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WhichOne.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	88.9 KB
ID:	99954   Click image for larger version

Name:	WhichOne2.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	99955  
__________________
- ҉ - My Computer: - ҉ -
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 GHz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus ROG Maximus VIII Extreme LGA 1151 Intel ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 980 4gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb ││ SSDs (Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen

- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download

Last edited by Snacko; 06-17-2014 at 05:56 PM.
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 05:57 PM   #8
xaoslaad
Member
 
xaoslaad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 955
Reputation power: 12
xaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nice
Default

Thanks. Rocksmith 2014 hates my Saitek pedals (they have the effect of hitting pressing down constantly( and I've been going in and disabling the HID device rather than unplug it for awhile now, but being able to click a bat file is even easier.

Maybe I can go the extra mile and script , disable, launch, enable and just forget it all together.
xaoslaad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:15 PM   #9
Snacko
Member
 
Snacko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio USA
Posts: 738
Reputation power: 10
Snacko will become famous soon enoughSnacko will become famous soon enoughSnacko will become famous soon enoughSnacko will become famous soon enough
Default

Do I have to disable 'all' of the hardware IDs for 'all' of the device functions (HID, USB, etc...)?
__________________
- ҉ - My Computer: - ҉ -
Intel I7-6700K 4.00 GHz (OC'ed @ 4.8ghz) ││ Asus ROG Maximus VIII Extreme LGA 1151 Intel ││ G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 ││ Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate 360MM
GeForce GTX 980 4gb ││ Corsair 850watt ││ 2x SanDisk 250gb ││ SSDs (Raid0) ││ 2x WD 300gb ││ 1x WD 1tb ││ 3x Acer 28" ││ 1x 28" Touchscreen

- ҉ - Blackshark Cockpit Trainer - ҉ -
-- Thread -- ♥ Download
Snacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:19 PM   #10
xaoslaad
Member
 
xaoslaad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New England
Posts: 955
Reputation power: 12
xaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nicexaoslaad is just really nice
Default

Snacko, haven't tried scripting it yet, but when disabling it manually doing the HID device is enough for my case (but disabling the USB instead would make the HID device just disappear, and also worked)... You may just have to play a bit to get the desired effect, but it couldn't hurt to just try the HID device for starters, I don't think...
xaoslaad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:59 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.