Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2013, 03:33 PM   #1
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,174
Reputation power: 97
PeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to behold
Exclamation KNEEBOARD Tablet Mod for DCS World



KNEEBOARD_Tablet_Mod_PP_1.02_for DCSWORLD_1.2.5





READ_ME First.txt:


Quote:
KNEEBOARD_Tablet_Mod_PP_for DCSWORLD_1.2.5

***************************************
All tests are made in DCS World 1.2.5
***************************************
This will enable you to place the Kneeboard in all modules exactly were you want/need it.

(BTW: this mod is JSGME compatible)
Installation:
-------------
1.
Copy the content of "KNEEBOARD_BASE_MOD_Install_First" folder into the same folder of your DCS World install and allow to overwrite.
Example path:
H:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\

2. Than do the same with the content of the folder that has the name of you installed Modules in it.

3.Users of the A-10C and/or Ka-50 HAVE to do what is written in the "READ_ME Ka-50.txt"/"READ_ME A-10C.txt"
otherwise you will not be able to 'call the kneeboard -as your module knows nothing about the needed key-commands!!!

***************************************

Usage:
------

See included documentation for details. Read/look at them all!!


If your "monitorsetup".lua has not the Kneeboard entry in it,
you will Have the Kneeboard in-cockpit.

The map is the start of each Kneeborad. After it there will be the Custom images. And before the Map are the Mission images. Between the Mission and custom charts are the "common" charts, that are the airports and ect.



***************************************

Un-install:
----------
Use JSGME or run a DCS-Repair

***************************************

A Helping hand how to edit "Monitorsetup".lua files:
------------------------------------------------------
>>> Dummies Guide for the “MonitorSetup.lua“ http://files.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/214771/

***************************************

Info/annotations >>> http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.ph...54#post1776454

If I find out that you didn't read the readme and ask for help for something that is covered by it and the documentation... I will kick your butt!

- PeterP 14.06.2013

I changed the colour pattern again :


ACHTUNG! :

The UH-1H , P-51D and FC3 uses the Knee-board without problem....
But

The A-10C and Ka-50 module knows nothing about a Kneeboard in DCS 1.2.4 by default!

So we have to 'teach' this module that it can use a Kneeboard : Read the READ_ME Ka-50.txt/READ_ME A-10C.txt for how to.

















File: KNEEBOARD_Tablet_Mod_PP_1.02_for DCSWORLD_1.2.5.rar
Size: 19.73 Mb
[download]



This mod is incompatible with DCS World 1.2.6 - Please don't use it any more.
A premature Beta for DCS 1.2.6 can be downloaded >here<



(Don't upload it to another place!! I will maybe make improvements and updates in the future! - only link this post when re-posting it somewhere
else!)


FAQ:

Q:
Quote:
Originally Posted by fangav View Post
this is looking great, will we be able to zoom in to see the detail?
A:Is this zoom close enough?!
Spoiler:

Q: Can I use the buttons and click on it?
A: No - maybe in the future.
Have a look: Is there any way to add custom connectors ?
I gave the Kneeboard this generic tablet design in the first instance to make it plausible why the charts are always bright and shiny and not influenced by any light conditions.



Q: I'm using only the Viewport Kneeboards - and the border annoys me ! - How I can remove the Tablet border ?
A:
Navigate to \DCS World\KNEEBOARD_MOD_PeterP\data and rename or delete the "kneeboard_mask.dds" than
rename "kneeboard_mask-EMPTY.dds" to
"kneeboard_mask.dds".


Q: What kinda navigation does it have for pages? Are you limited to the right and left arrow keys or can you go through a directory type view to find what you want faster?
A:
Only next/previous page - sorry, no 'bookmarks'.
Info about the 'why' >>> #94


Q: I'm concerned if I can use this Mod together with other Mods - which files does it change?
A:
This mod uses the files of the default Kneeboard as it is used by the P-51D/UH1H and FC3 since 1.2.4
But without touching them (in a way)
And each module has a modified DCS World\Mods\aircrafts\>module<\Cockpit\Scripts\device_init.lua to 'reroute' the calls for the Kneeboard to my new folder "KNEEBOARD_MOD_PeterP".
(The ka-50 and A10-C have also a modified devices.lua and a new input files in e.g. DCS World\Mods\aircrafts\A-10C\Input\A-10C.)

I have chosen this way to leave only a small 'footprint' in each module , and that I have to edit only one file to make a new module compatible with it.

Be assured:This 'core-files' of a module are normally not touched by any other commonly used Mod I know of. And you can use it save with any other mod.

But this Mod needs a closer look from me every time a new update from ED is out if it doesn't brake something. If you unsure if you can use it after a new update - please revisit this thread and observe the responses.

Almost forgot: It changes also the 'default-level' of the LeftMFCD of the A-10C - so the new Kneeboard and the L-MFCD are not 'fighting' each other if rendered as a viewport.


Q:
is it possible to read a *.pdf with this Mod
A: No. Supported image files are:
*.bmp , *.jpg *.png , *.tga ,*.dds

Q: I do usually long ferry flights and I'm very bored... - Can I take my Playboy collection with me?!
A: Yes! - Scan them and put the images in the "Custom_Charts" folder of your used aircraft/module.

Have a look also at this:


Here is some stuff for you to fill up your personal Kneeboard with even more charts:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leto View Post
We released the updated set of charts: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=73419&page=16

- Aerodrome (Ground) Charts for DCS: A-10C and Flaming Cliffs 3
- Visual Approach and Departure (VAD) Charts for DCS: A-10C
- Visual Approach and Departure (VAD) Charts for FC3 aircraft (new)


DCS World Keyboard Charts
>>> http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=111745



BTW: I highly recommend using following Mod together with the In-cockpit rendered Kneeboard - you will enjoy it much more!
>>>
Reworked Cockpit Views with proper Neck


Known bugs:

'Kneeboard glance view' function is reversed when in 'in-cockpit' mode - you have to use the show/hide key/button press.

You have 'wishes' about expanding the current functionality ?!
Please post them here:
ED Forums » English » Digital Combat Simulator » DCS World » DCS Wishlist » Functional Kneeboard for all Modules!

Throwing in two examples for a alternative placement of the Kneeboard inside the cockpit:

Use the numbers out of the notepad++ window to get the same results.

Ka-50 right panel position:


UH-1H Wind-shield Center , you must lean and zoom a little more to get a optimal view, but this position let you see and use the Kneeboard also from the Co-Pilot seat :



A tip for a more streamlined editing the position without the need to reload the mission each time you made a change:

Use the included "All planes-modules Kneeboard test.miz" and edit the numbers while DCS is running.
Than save the edited device_init.lua. Switch to DCS - go to Briefing > Back and re-enter the newly edited module again to see instantly your changes - redo this until you are satisfied with your position.

Last edited by PeterP; 09-27-2013 at 07:29 AM.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 03:50 PM   #2
_Heater_
Senior Member
 
_Heater_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milan,Italy
Posts: 2,777
Reputation power: 29
_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all_Heater_ is a name known to all
Send a message via MSN to _Heater_ Send a message via Skype™ to _Heater_
Default

Hallo PeterP,
many thanks for your efforts, I will test soon, I'm very interested to this mod.
IIRC, the old version of this mod (1.2.3. I guess) had a problem with TAD, but I want to check for more deep.

Cheers
__________________

Simulatori: DCS A-10C Warthog - DCS F/A-18C Hornet - VRS F/A-18E - Falcon BMS
HOTAS: TM Warthog -
I see a rainbow rising, look there, on the horizon...
Tally: I see the degenerate commie who wants to ruin our day.
_Heater_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:47 PM   #3
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,174
Reputation power: 97
PeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to behold
Default

Errata!

Whoever downloaded this mod - do it again ! ( I count 6 )

sorry ! I forgot to add a Font in the first file - so it does work somehow - but it doesn't look as intended (the white outline is missing) - but it is fixed now.

Please download again.

BTW I'm open to colour changes (as long this mod isn't up the user-files-section of ED) like the way-point circles and/or path. - Just use it a little before you make suggestions out of the blue .
I use this colour combination (green/white/red) since almost 6 month's and I have no issues so far.

But I have to admit that this can be problematic for some green/red blind users - . - Make yourself heard!
__________________


Last edited by PeterP; 06-01-2013 at 05:53 PM.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:50 PM   #4
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 15,672
Reputation power: 97
cichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to behold
Default

^^ Grog!!
__________________
ASUS P8P67Pro B3, i7-2600K@4.4GHz, Noctua U9 Cooler, 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, 250GB & 500GB Samsung, 2TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 980 AMP! Extreme 4GB, Creative XFi PCI, Corsair AX850 Pro, Samsung 40H6350 TV, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, Saitek Trim Wheel, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 05:04 PM   #5
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,174
Reputation power: 97
PeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to behold
Default

..maybe...

But the real cause is much simpler:
before I make a mod-package for upload I run a dcs-repair and use the files that I find in my latest backup to zip/rar the package.
Than I copy only the new package on a 'repaired' DCS installation to check again that the mod works for a last test.

Well this works very good as long you don't add new contend/files to DCS , because DCS only exchanges and backups files that it 'knows' -
so: when I add a new font it will be not saved in the backup folder... -
And I got fooled that it works when I tested because in DCS the needed font was still there - even after the repair.

I only realised it on a second test run on my absulute never modded DCS backup installation that contents only the original files....

That's the cause why it wasn't included in my first 'hasty' upload.

Cheers!
__________________


Last edited by PeterP; 06-01-2013 at 05:10 PM.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 05:09 PM   #6
cichlidfan
Veteran
 
cichlidfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Woodbridge,VA,USA
Posts: 15,672
Reputation power: 97
cichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to beholdcichlidfan is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterP View Post
Well this works very good as long you don't add new contend/files to DCS , because DCS only exchanges and backups files that it 'knows' -
The fact that it leaves 'unknown' files and folders alone is quite convenient though.

Thanks again!
__________________
ASUS P8P67Pro B3, i7-2600K@4.4GHz, Noctua U9 Cooler, 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, 250GB & 500GB Samsung, 2TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac GTX 980 AMP! Extreme 4GB, Creative XFi PCI, Corsair AX850 Pro, Samsung 40H6350 TV, VX2258 TouchScreen, TIR 5 w/ProClip, TM Warthog, MFG Crosswind Pedals #1199, Saitek Trim Wheel, VolairSim Pit, Rift CV1

Last edited by cichlidfan; 06-02-2013 at 04:53 PM.
cichlidfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 05:13 PM   #7
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,174
Reputation power: 97
PeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to behold
Default

Yes it is! - but sometime even I get tricked by it - and the 'grog-factor' doesn't plays the first role.


It's a absulute normal "ID-10-T ERROR"
__________________

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 06:51 PM   #8
zaelu
Veteran
 
zaelu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nice, France
Posts: 3,311
Reputation power: 29
zaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Someone should make this kneewboard export to a tablet... you can strap the thing to your leg and switch pages like with any tablet.

hm...
__________________

Spoiler:

MoBo ASRock Z87 Pro3
CPU Intel Core i5 4670K 3.4GHz
RAM Crucial Ballistix Tactical 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 Dual Channel Kit
VGA Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Gaming G1 4GB DDR5
3xSSD drives 2xSSD Kingston 120GB SATA-III V300 and SSD Intel 160GB SATA-III A2M
FreeTrack Headtracking with 3point clip handmade and PS3 Eye camera
HOTAS Logitech G940 controller moded with BU0836 controller
Mouse Razer Mamba
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Laser Keyboard 6000
Monitor Benq 24" full HD
OS Win7 64 bit
zaelu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:03 PM   #9
PeterP
Veteran
 
PeterP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany / UTC+1
Posts: 5,174
Reputation power: 97
PeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to beholdPeterP is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaelu View Post
Someone should make this kneewboard export to a tablet... you can strap the thing to your leg and switch pages like with any tablet.

hm...
Easy-peasy - no need for a dedicated application - it is already possible:
there is an app for almost every tablet , android/apple , that let you hook it up as Virtual-monitor to your PC. Than simply expand the DCS Render to this Virtual-monitor, and place your Kneeboard in it.
Than use a key-script app to define page-up/down to certain spaces of this tablet.

Finished!
__________________


Last edited by PeterP; 06-01-2013 at 07:06 PM.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:25 PM   #10
zaelu
Veteran
 
zaelu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nice, France
Posts: 3,311
Reputation power: 29
zaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of lightzaelu is a glorious beacon of light
Default

interesting. but would be more "realistic" to use the touchscreen on the tablet for inputs.
__________________

Spoiler:

MoBo ASRock Z87 Pro3
CPU Intel Core i5 4670K 3.4GHz
RAM Crucial Ballistix Tactical 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 Dual Channel Kit
VGA Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 Gaming G1 4GB DDR5
3xSSD drives 2xSSD Kingston 120GB SATA-III V300 and SSD Intel 160GB SATA-III A2M
FreeTrack Headtracking with 3point clip handmade and PS3 Eye camera
HOTAS Logitech G940 controller moded with BU0836 controller
Mouse Razer Mamba
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Laser Keyboard 6000
Monitor Benq 24" full HD
OS Win7 64 bit
zaelu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:30 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.