Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 08:20 AM   #1
[SCoRPioN]+
Banned
 
[SCoRPioN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 93
Reputation power: 11
[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about
Smile Noteworthy Crash Fix

I have done some research and have figured out how to
STOP ALL MY DCS CRASHES!
All of you having problems are in luck!

Those DCS stopped responding or has caused an error and needs to close!
Sometimes it crashes constantly when refreshing multiplayer servers.
Needs a reboot, and even then still doesnt work consistently.
Other times when just joined a server and choosing an aircraft, and crash!
Or fly for an hour and crash!

So, here are the 2 main fixes! Enjoy! No More Crashes!
This will also speed it up! And other games too!

First fix for 32-bit only, let the program use more RAM:

For Win Vista/7 simply Copy/Paste or Type Exactly into CMD:
bcdedit /set increaseuserva 3072
And Reboot.

For Windows XP 32-bit, use these instructions:
http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/faq/Win32


Second fix, has to do with DEP, just dont worry what it does, it's magic!
Copy/Paste or Type Exactly into CMD:
bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOff
Reboot.

This turns off DEP for all programs and lets DCS freely use your system, so to say, it's awesome and it works!
To REVERT IT and STOP the fix, type this and reboot

bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOn
bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx OptIn

Not a single crash since I did this myself on Win7 32.
I just cant use my MS SideWinder Precision Pro with USB and only Gameport and only in 32bit and these commands have saved me!

NO MORE CRASHES!
Let me know if this worked for you or not.
My guess is that it will!
[SCoRPioN] is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:27 AM   #2
c0ff
ED Team
 
c0ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,672
Reputation power: n/a
Default

DEP can also be disabled only for specific executables:

https://help.ea.com/article/dep-sett...-and-windows-7

For DCS add these 2 exe files to DEP Exception List:
INSTALL_DIR\bin\DCS.exe
INSTALL_DIR\bin\Launcher.exe
__________________
Dmitry S. Baikov @ Eagle Dynamics
Listen to my music here: http://soundcloud.com/c0ff
c0ff is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:29 AM   #3
[SCoRPioN]+
Banned
 
[SCoRPioN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 93
Reputation power: 11
[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about
Default

It does not work for DCS.exe DEP off, try it.
Did not work for me, it said error, has to be enabled for DCS.exe
Have to disable for all.
[SCoRPioN] is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:29 AM   #4
c0ff
ED Team
 
c0ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,672
Reputation power: n/a
Default

It deserves to be sticky, only if titled a bit less ambitious.
Some DCS crashes are caused by plain old bugs.
__________________
Dmitry S. Baikov @ Eagle Dynamics
Listen to my music here: http://soundcloud.com/c0ff
c0ff is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:31 AM   #5
[SCoRPioN]+
Banned
 
[SCoRPioN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 93
Reputation power: 11
[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about
Default

Hehe, I titled it originally as Fix for 90% of Crashes, but I havent had a single crash, so for me, it's for all crashes, thus far.
[SCoRPioN] is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:33 AM   #6
c0ff
ED Team
 
c0ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,672
Reputation power: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [SCoRPioN] View Post
It does not work for DCS.exe DEP off, try it.
Did not work for me, it said error, has to be enabled for DCS.exe
Have to disable for all.
Seems like for some executables this advice helps:
Quote:
Right click on the File and go to the Compatibility Tab and change the compatibility mode to Windows XP (Service Pack 3) for 'All Users'.
But that's may be too much of a hackery.


EDIT: the most complete but complex solution I've found: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/w...1-02392983d747
__________________
Dmitry S. Baikov @ Eagle Dynamics
Listen to my music here: http://soundcloud.com/c0ff

Last edited by c0ff; 05-28-2013 at 08:40 AM.
c0ff is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:41 AM   #7
=STP= Dragon
Senior Member
 
=STP= Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Germany / BW
Posts: 2,785
Reputation power: 41
=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all=STP= Dragon is a name known to all
Default

I think people would have more trust if you explain what DEP is.
With " just dont worry what it does, it's magic!" nobody will give it a try.
=STP= Dragon is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:56 AM   #8
hreich
Member
 
hreich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 812
Reputation power: 14
hreich is a jewel in the roughhreich is a jewel in the roughhreich is a jewel in the roughhreich is a jewel in the roughhreich is a jewel in the roughhreich is a jewel in the rough
Default

What about users with 64 bit win7 ?
__________________

Pilot from Croatia
hreich is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 09:04 AM   #9
[SCoRPioN]+
Banned
 
[SCoRPioN]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 93
Reputation power: 11
[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about[SCoRPioN] has a spectacular aura about
Default

Win XP/Vista/7 64=bit use only Fix #2
Copy/Paste or Type Exactly into CMD:
bcdedit.exe /set {current} nx AlwaysOff
Reboot.

DEP http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Data_Execution_Prevention

This seriously works, also for games like GTA.

Also do this:

1. DELETE ALL FILES IN THESE LOCATIONS CTRL A SHIFT DEL KEY:
Location 1: C:\Users\[UserName]\Saved Games\DCS\Logs\
Location 2: WinKey+R Run: %temp%
2. RUN REPAIR DCS WORLD
from the START ALL PROGRAMS MENU.


If the program is complete and these fixes are done, try to make it crash!
Please report here if helped or not.
[SCoRPioN] is offline  
Old 05-28-2013, 09:24 AM   #10
prefetch
Junior Member
 
prefetch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 20
Reputation power: 0
prefetch is on a distinguished roadprefetch is on a distinguished road
Default well done

thnx scorpion!

been wanting to turn off that damn DEP for a while now

like you i found it could not be turned off for executables? WTF?

i am one of your 32bit brothers, so much appreciation!
__________________
prefetch



LOMAC, FC, FC2, DCSWorld, Su-25A
"I like Russian stuff"
prefetch is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:53 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.