Flight Control Settings

frustratednobody

What are good flight control settings for the pitch and roll? I am currently at Deadzone 10 and Curve 30. Everything else is default.

When I fly the Frogfoot, the controls are just about useless. The nose mushes and flops around and roll control is out of control pretty much. Its not as bad with the P-51 but still not great.

I am a newbie, so please consider that when giving advice! Thanks in advance!

What controller are you using?

[sIGPIC][/sIGPIC]WIN 10, i7 10700, 32GB DDR4, RTX 2080 Super, Crucial 1TB SSD, Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD, TM Warthog with 10cm extension, TIR5, MFG Crosswind Pedals, Wheelstand Pro, LG 40" 4K TV, Razer Black Widow Ultimate KB[/size]

Curve settings are a very individual thing and often change for a given individual over time, as they become accustomed to the specific aircraft.

That being said, unless you have a very sloppy center on your stick, that is a large dead zone. A dead zone that big can mess up your timing and sense of control since you will move the stick fairly far before the aircraft responds, somewhat suddenly. This can lead to over-reaction on your part which just makes things worse.

A curve of 30 is fairly gentle on the edges and in the center, but it gets rather steep in between.

You might try trimming down your dead zone or, if your stick is fairly accurate, eliminate it. Then cut your curve back to between 20 and 25. From there you are just going to have to play with it until you are comfortable.

Lastly, I would suggest trying to concentrate on smooth gentle movements of the stick while in flight. Attempt to see how small a change in your flight path you can make by just barely moving the stick. Then gradually move to larger changes while keeping the motions smooth and even.

Remember, your stick is a lot shorter than the one in the actual aircraft so the amount of stick movement needed, under most circumstances, is going to be smaller than you might think.